The Squid's Ear Magazine

Squid: O Monolith (Warp Records)

The second full-length album from the UK genre-merging rock band Squid, in eight new songs of quirky imagistic and insightful lyrics and playing, surprising instrumental combinations and an experimental approach to layering sound, born from onstage improv experiments during their 2021 tour, recording this album at Peter Gabriel's studio at the end of that tour.

Price: $17.95


In Stock

Quantity in Basket: None

Log In to use our Wish List Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

product information:

UPC: 5056614704051

Label: Warp Records
Catalog ID: CD-WRP-353
Squidco Product Code: 33887

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2023
Country: UK
Packaging: Digipack - 3 panel
Recorded by Alexis Smith and Dan Carey.


Anton Pearson-composer, performer

Arthur Leadbetter-composer, performer

Laurie Nankivell-composer, performer

Louis Borlase-composer, performer

Ollie Judge-composer, performer

Natalie Whiteland-harp

Henry Terrett-percussion

Zands Duggan-percussion

Martha Skye Murphy-vocals

Dylan Humphreys-woodwind

Nicholas Ellis-woodwind

Shards-choral ensemble

Click an artist name above to see in-stock items for that artist.

Sample The Album:

Descriptions, Reviews, &c.

"Teeming with melodic epiphanies and layered sounds, Squid's second album O Monolith is a musical evocation of environment, domesticity and self-made folklore. Like its predecessor, 2021's critically acclaimed, UK number 4 album Bright Green Field, it is dense and tricksy - but also more warm and characterful, with a meandering, questioning nature. A sense of open conversation is cultivated: this is unmistakably music made by friends, but it's not exclusionary - they're inviting you in to listen with them. Expansive, evocative and hugely varied, O Monolith retains Squid's restless, enigmatic spirit, but it still holds surprises for those familiar with Bright Green Field. It's a reflection of the outsized progression of a band always looking to the future. Like its namesake, O Monolith is vast and strange; alive with endless possible interpretations of its inner mysteries."-Warp

Track Listing:

1. Swing (In A Dream) 04:29

2. Devil's Den 03:05

3. Siphon Song 05:58

4. Undergrowth 06:35

5. The Blades 06:28

6. After The Flash 05:34

7. Green Light 04:23

8. If You Had Seen The Bull's Swimming Attempts You Would Have Stayed Away 05:14

Related Categories of Interest:

Rock and Related
Improvised Rock
Improvised Music
Song Based Music
London & UK Improv & Related Scenes
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
New in Rock Forms
Recent Releases and Best Sellers

Search for other titles on the label:
Warp Records.

Recommended & Related Releases:

The Squid's Ear Magazine

The Squid's Ear Magazine

© 2002-, Squidco LLC