The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Inuit throat singer Tanya Tagaq in a bizarre and amazing performance at the Victoriaville Festival in 2010 with Drip Audio director Jesse Zubot on violin and Barnyard boss Jean Martin on drums, computer, trumpophone.

Tagaq, Tanya
Anuraaqtuq - Le Vent (The Wind)

Tagaq, Tanya : Anuraaqtuq - Le Vent (The Wind) (Victo)
Label: Victo    
Released in: Canada    

"Inuit throat singer Tanya Tagaq redefined the idiom with passion-filled and electrifying vocalizing of animal sounds, the rages of nature and deep human emotions."-Irwin Block

"Exiting the venue back in May 2010, we all knew we had just witness something incredible, magical. Then, time took its toll, and we started doubting; we caught other shows by the artist, and we doubted again, Finally, this CD arrived and, well, it was real, we DID witness a moment of pure magic, a moment this record faithfully preserves. Anuraaqtuq is the first recording by Tanya Tagaq's trio in its incarnation since 2009. With drummer Jean Martin and violinist Jesse Zubot, the Inuit singer completely eschews her previous pop records to dive headfirst into ultra-emotional free improvisation. She screams, cries, yelps and orgasms, transmuting the most atavistic human emotions into a spellbinding song. And that particular night, she reached new heights before an audience that, unlike what she was used to, was taking it all in and asking for more. A communion the likes of which I have rarely witnessed - and whenever I did, it was always at FIMAV and nowhere else."-François Couture, Monsieur Delire

Read more about this item
The Squid
At The Squid's Ear!

See all items in the Victo category

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Musique Actuelle
Unusual Vocal Forms
Electro-Acoustic Improv
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Trio Recordings

Search for other titles on the Victo label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Musica Elettronica Viva
Symphony No 106
Bittova / Riley / Ziporyn
Eviyan Live
Molinaro, Joey
The Inalienable Dreamless / We
(Inverted Music Company)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Parker, Evan ElectroAcoustic Septet
Gate, The (feat Tim Dahl / Nate Wooley)
Stench [VINYL]
New Zion Trio (Jamie Saft / Brad Jones / Craig Santiago)
Karayorgis, Pandelis Quintet
(Driff Records)
Maroney / Ilgenfritz / Niescier / Drury
Mind Games
(OutNow Recordings)
Karl 2000

Trumpet Trumpet Synthesizer
(Henkel / Wick / Minissali)
(Prom Night Records)
Various Artists
Because Tomorrow Comes #2
(Because Tomorrow Comes)
Various Artists
Because Tomorrow Comes #3
(Because Tomorrow Comes)
Leandre, Joelle & Serge Teyssot-Gay
Various Artists
30 Jahre Inventionen 1982-2012 [2 CDs + DVD]
(Edition Rz)
Morris, Joe Quartet
Graffiti In Two Parts
Smith, Wadada Leo
Ten Freedom Summers [4 CDs]
Electric Bird Noise
le vestibule - vestibule transitoire
(No More Stars Records)
Kalabalik (Raoul Bjorkenheim / Anders Nilsson / Gerald Cleaver)
Kalabalik: Live At Downtown Music Gallery January 2, 2011
Various Artists
Fukushima! [2 CDs]
(Presqu'ille Records)
Jefferson, Larry
Journey [CASSETTE]
(Rollax Records)
Toral, Rafael / Davu Seru
Live in Minneapolis
(Clean Feed)
Circulasione Totale Orchestra
PhilaOslo [2 CDs]
ElSaffar, Amir
(Pi Recordings)
Lehman, Steve Trio, feat. Matt Brewer and Damion Reid
Dialect Fluorescent
(Pi Recordings)
Tetras (Khan / Visser / Weber)
Pareidolia [VINYL 2 LPs]
(Flingco Sound System)
If, Bwana / Dan Warburton
I am Sitting in Phill Niblock's Kitchen
Price: $14.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 777405012128

Label: Victo
Catalog ID: VICTO CD 121
Squidco Product Code: 15387

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2011
Country: Canada
Packaging: Cardstock gatefold foldover
Recorded at the 26th Festival International de Musique Actuelle in Victoraville on May 23rd, 2010.


Tanya Tagaq-voice

Jean Martin-drums, computer, trumpophone

Jesse Zubot-violin

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Snarl 10:56

2. Plush 17:41

3. Savik 6:20

4. Plume 12:13

5. Tatkik 9:24