The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2021, Squidco LLC


A Fire Is Meant for Burning

Vlor: A Fire Is Meant for Burning (Silber Media)

Minimalist guitar collaborations from members of Remora, Aarktica, Lycia, Rivulets, 6P.M., Red Morning Chorus, & Jessica Bailiff.

Price: $10.95


In Stock

Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Log In to use our Wish List
product information:

UPC: 656605829326

Label: Silber Media
Catalog ID: 051
Squidco Product Code: 11043

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2006
Country: USA
Packaging: Cardstock Gatefold Sleeve


John Mitchell-guitar

Jon DeRosa-guitar, harmonium

Mike VanPortfleet-guitar

Nathan Amundson-guitar, keyboards

Jessica Bailiff-vocals, violin, guitar

Jesse Edwards-acoustic guitar

Paolo Messere-percussion, electric guitar, keyboards

Click an artist name above to see in-stock items for that artist.

Highlight an instrument above
and click here to Search for albums with that instrument.
track listing:

1. Trust in Weapons

2. Wires

3. Weakening Blows

4. Horses in the Deserts

5. Potential New Sound

6. Houses Not Homes

7. Light at the Speed of Sound

8. Suncatcher

9. Pale Lights

10. Days Like Smoke

11. New Machine

12. Burning Mornings
sample the album:

descriptions, reviews, &c.

"Vlor originally started way back in 1992 consisting of best friends Brian John Mitchell (Remora) & Russell Halasz with acoustic guitars doing Cure & Bauhaus covers. A lack of money for delay & reverb & looping units led to experimentation with natural reverbs in odd rooms & repetitive guitar drones, arpeggios, & riffs. In 1997 Vlor recorded the Lavished EP in a racquetball court & in 1998 Vlor recorded the Luxate EP on a four track. Unfortunately 1998 also seemingly marked the end of Vlor with Halasz moving to Florida.

In 2005 while working on archiving out of print releases for Silber, Mitchell realized what he loved & missed about Vlor was the excitement & freedom of music made with friends. Mitchell recorded ninety minutes of initial guitar riffs & arpeggios & sent them to six friends for completion of the songs. Drone-pop-star Jon DeRosa (Aarktica) adds harmonium & serialist guitar parts. Mike VanPortfleet (Lycia) adds his trademarked highly harmonized & reverbed guitarwork. Nathan Amundson (Rivulets), who normally focuses on acoustic guitar, adds electric guitar & keyboards. Neo-psychedeliaist Jessica Bailiff adds vocals & violin & acoustic guitar. Acoustic guitarist Jesse Edwards (Red Morning Chorus) adds a variety of Indian instruments & hand percussion. Shoegazer Paolo Messere (6P.M.) adds virtually an entire band with percussion, electric guitars, & keyboards. The best results of these collaborations are a fire is meant for burning.

Some of the tracks like "wires" show the overwhelming power & orchestration the project is capable of despite the song's humble start with a guitar that survived a fire strung with steel wire instead of guitar strings. Other tracks like "pale lights" & "trust in weapons" remain content as minimalist guitar experiments. Vlor in the end is about two things, friendship & music."-Silber Media

Related Categories of Interest:

Sound, Noise, &c.
Guitarists, &c.

Other Releases With These Artists:
Recommended & Related Releases:
Other Recommended Releases:
Newton, Jamie
Tone Wheel
Feel No Other
Feel No Other

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Hanslip, Mark / Emil Karlsen
Mazurek, Rob
Love Waves Ecstatic Charge
(Astral Spirits)
Pinhas, Richard / Tatsuya Yoshida
(Magaibutsu Limited)
Brown, Marion
Capricorn Moon To Juba Lee (remastered)
(ezz-thetics by Hat Hut Records Ltd)
Ayler, Albert Quartets
Spirits To Ghosts Revisited (remastered)
(ezz-thetics by Hat Hut Records Ltd)
Beck Hunters
Has It Been Found?
Archer, Martin
Another Fantastic Individual
Tippett, Keith
The Unlonely Raindancer
Drone Trio (Davis / Frith / Greenlief)
Lantskap Logic
(Clean Feed)
Louis Minus XVI
De Anima [VINYL]
Volden, Havard / Carlo Costa
In the Wake
(Neither/Nor Records)
Rose, Simon / Philippe Lemoine
(Tour de Bras)
Parker, Evan
Evan Parker With Birds - For Steve Lacy [VINYL]
Onodera, Yui / Stephen Vitiello
(Mikroton Recordings)
Borromean Rings
Weston, Grant Calvin / Lucas Brode
Flying Kites [CD + DOWNLOAD]
(577 Records)
Ughi, Federico (Ughi / Irwin / Snyder / Adu / Swanson)
(577 Records)
Weston, Grant Calvin
Improv Messenger [CD + DOWNLOAD]
(577 Records)
Strycharski / Andriessen
Turbulence Doom Choir
Energy Cascades
(Evil Clown)
Sick Boss (Schmidt / Meger / Peggy Lee / JP Carter / Naylor / Page)
Sick Boss
(Drip Audio)
Orphax / Machinefabriek
(Moving Furniture)
Various Artists
910 Noise Presents
(910 Noise)
MIR 8 (Andrea Belfi / Werner Dafeldecker / Hilary Jeffery / Tim Wright)
Perihelion [VINYL]

Search for other titles on the Silber Media label.