The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

French artists Michel Edelin (flute), Jacques Di Donato (reeds), Jean-Jacques Avenel (bass) and Simon Goubert (drums) in a melodic and creative jazz album that surprises in beautiful and unusual compositional structures.

Edelin, Michel Quartet

Edelin, Michel Quartet: Resurgence (RogueArt)
Label: RogueArt    
Released in: France    

"...The accent is put on the song, on melodic fluidity and rhythmic scansion, on the exactness of the narrative architecture, and one always keeps a respectful distance with large lyrical effusions and the emphatic expression of emotions. Michel Edelin, Jacques Di Donato, Jean-Jacques Avenel et Simon Goubert know how to calculate their phrases, sometimes as far as ellipse, they know how to delicately retie them, to proceed by allusions, sudden cuts, amused ruptures, leaps, tensions, parenthesis. One reaches an instant plenitude ("A line, a few summary vibrations, and everything becomes clear", as Mallarmé wrote) irresistably seductive while, paradoxically, the improvisations flee the affected poetic style and take a malicious pleasure in thwarting the discourse which, by the rhythm and range would ring too pure, too beautiful... Bernard Aimé, extrait des notes de pochette"-RogueArt

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
Melodic and Lyrical Jazz
Quartet Recordings

Search for other titles on the RogueArt label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Edelin's, Michel Flute Fever Orchestra with special guest Nicole Mitchell
Kalamania [2 CDs]
Coursil, Jacques with Alan Silva
Parker, Evan / Matthew Shipp
Rex, Wrecks & XXX [2 CDs]
Mitchell, Nicole
Engraved in the Wind
Abrams, Joshua Quartet
Unknown Known
Mitchell, Roscoe & Nicole Mitchell's Black Earth Ensemble
Three Compositions - Live At Sant'anna Arresi
Mitchell, Nicole & an_Arche NewMusic Ensemble
Arc Of O For Improvisers, Chamber Orchestra & Electronics
Crothers, Connie / David Arner
Spontaneous Suite For Two Pianos [4 CD Box Set]
Indigo Trio + Michel Edelin
The Ethiopian Princess Meets The Tantric Priest
Leandre / Mitchell / Van Der Schyff
Before After
Bynum, Taylor Ho
Book Of Three
Mitchell, Nicole Sonic Projections
Emerald Hills
Leandre, Joelle / Lewis, George
Transatlantic Visions
Edelin, Michele Trio + Steve Lehman
Drake, Hamid / Bindu

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Bandolin, Jacob do
Great Jewish Music
Zorn, John
The Mockingbird
Cage, John
Early Music
(Edition Wandelweiser Records)
Chrysakis, Thanos / Chris Cundy
Music for Chamber Organ & Contra Bass Clarinet
(Aural Terrains)
Kudirka, Joseph
'Beauty and Industry' - ensemble works played by Apartment House
(Another Timbre)
Eisenstadt, Harris
September, Canada Day IV
Eneidi, Marco / Damon Smith / Peter Kowald
Ghetto Calypso
(Not Two Records)
Ghost Trees
The New Gravity [VINYL]
(Future Recordings)
Ulher, Birgit / Leonel Kaplan
Stereo Trumpet
(Relative Pitch)
Wooley / Rempis / Niggenkemper / Corsano
From Wolves To Whales
Dunmall, Paul Sextet
Life in Four Parts
Price: $15.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 3760131270495

Label: RogueArt
Catalog ID: R0G-049
Squidco Product Code: 17595

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2013
Country: France
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded by Laurent Codoul on May 26th and 27th, 2011 at La Muse en Circuit, Alfortville, France.


Michel Edelin-flute, alto flute, bass flute

Jacques Di Donato-bass clarinet, soprano saxophone

Jean-Jacques Avenel-double bass

Simon Goubert-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Simon's Bubbles 4:57

2. Danse avec l'Ours 4:51

3. Old and Beautiful Story 6:48

4. Tristezza Della Diva 4:13

5. Le Chat et la Souris 2:03

6. Errance Carminee 6:22

7. Jet Lag 5:53

8. Tales of Seven Lizards 5:12

9. Bailes de Tango 4:29

10. Witches 4:23

11. Black Snow 4:02