The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Denmark to NY transplant Dam Eckardt Jensen blends her vocals, saxophone and flute work with Texan/NY bassist Tom Blancarte's furious playing to create unique sound worlds, including 5 hallucinatory and musical dreams.

Home of Easy Credit, The
(Blancarte / Eckardt)

Home of Easy Credit, The: (Blancarte / Eckardt) (Northern Spy)
Label: Northern Spy    
Released in: USA    

"The Home of Easy Credit is the eponymous debut recording from husband and wife team Louise Dam Eckardt Jensen and Tom Blancarte. Taking their name from a department store sign in a dilapidated section of downtown Houston, Texas (Blancarte's native state), the duo draw their inspiration from the gradual awareness of the decline of civilization which permeates our culture.

Hailing from a remote rural region of Denmark, Jensen uses subtle and not-so-subtle electronics to blend her vocal, saxophone and flute work with Tom Blancarte's furious bass playing, creating one of the most unique sound worlds in contemporary music. Featuring tortured sonic landscapes that conjure up Stockhausen and Feldman as readily as Björk or Mike Patton, their debut on Northern Spy Records is a mediation on the bleakness of modern America and the western world in general.

The album contains a tightly-constructed musical narrative; five short auditory haikus named for permutations of the American Dream posited by Ted Ownby are interspersed between longer, open-form pieces whose titles reference cubicles, the dark side of Frank Lloyd Wright and the books of Michael Pollan and James Howard Kunstler, among other subjects. The Home of Easy Credit paints a musical portrait of a commercialized and homogenized consumer culture that is slowly waking up to realize that it is completely fucked."-Northern Spy

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Electro-Acoustic Improv
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Duo Recordings

Search for other titles on the Northern Spy label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Ogrim, Tellef / Anders Berg
TOTEM> (Eisenbeil / Blancarte / Drury)
Voices of Grain
(New Atlantis)
Gate, The (feat Tim Dahl / Nate Wooley)
Stench [VINYL]
Grain [VINYL]
(Northern Spy)
Connors, Loren & Suzanne Langille
I Wish I DidnŐt Dream
(Northern Spy)
Diamond Terrifier
Kill the Self That Wants to Kill Yourself
(Northern Spy)
Jensen, Louise Dam Eckardt
You Look Like Your Mother, Would You Like More Sauce?
Evans, Peter Quartet
Live in Lisbon
(Clean Feed)
Evans, Peter Quartet
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Caine, Adam
Solar Forge

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Ward, Jason
Euphoric Nightmares
(Ten Speed Records)
Merce, Sergio
Microtonal Saxophone
Davidson, Scott with Shipp / Shorter / Bisio / Dickey
Stroomtoon II
(Herbal International)
Bartlett, Nathaniel
timespaceplace [CD + DVD]
(Sound-Space Audio Lab)
Bartlett, Nathaniel
(((Clang))) [CD + DVD]
(Sound-Space Audio Lab)
Bartlett, Nathaniel
Far Reaches [CD + DVD]
(Sound-Space Audio Lab)
Pisaro, Michael
Closed Categories in Cartesian Worlds
(Gravity Wave)
Romannis Motte
(Mystery School Records)
Wodrascka, Christine / Jean-Luc Cappozzo / Gerry Hemingway
Grey Matter
Lazro, Daunik / Joelle Leandre
Daisy, Tim Trio
A Fine Day In Berlin
(Relay Records)
World Heritage, The
Live At Goodman
Postmarks (Boris Hauf / D Bayne / Martin Siewert)
National Parks
Enough!!! (CM von Hausswolff / Jason Lescalleet / Joachim Nordwall)
Price: $12.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 722301231500

Label: Northern Spy
Catalog ID: NS 023
Squidco Product Code: 16940

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2012
Country: USA
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded by Colin Marstan at Menegroth, The Thousand Caves in Woodhaven, Queens during Fall and Winter 2011 and 2012.


Tom Blancarte-upright bass

Louise Dam Eckardt-alto saxophone, flute, vocals, electronics

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Monolithic Insanity (dedicated to Robert Propst) 9:31

2. The Dream of a Democracy of Goods 2:30

3. The Feast of the Meal Replacement Bars 7:48

4. The Dream of Abundance 1:36

5. A Fireproof House for $5000 8:44

6. The Dream of Novelty 2:14

7. Arches of Gold 7:10

8. The Dream of the Pursuit of Happiness 3:16

9. Concentrated Animal Feeding Operation 7:56

10. The Dream of Freedom of Choice 0:52

11. The Geography of Nowhere 9:00

12. Only 827 Miles to Wall Drug - with FREE ICE WATER! 3:51