The Squid's Ear Magazine


Synapse / Oxytocin [7'' Vinyl w/ Download]

Autorhythm: Synapse / Oxytocin [7'' Vinyl w/ Download] (thanatosis produktion)

The first single from Swedish electronic composer Joakim Forsgren's Autorhythm's project Songs For The Nervous System, two soundscapes in the ambient realm, Forsgren using vintage synths and no computers to create these tracks, described as "pop music for a dysfunctional but beautiful parallel world".

Price: $14.95


In Stock

Quantity in Basket: None

Log In to use our Wish List Shipping Weight: 8.00 units

product information:

Label: thanatosis produktion
Catalog ID: THTSS2
Squidco Product Code: 33027

Format: 7" Record
Condition: New
Released: 2023
Country: Sweden
Packaging: 7" Vinyl in Clear Sleeve


Joakim Forsgren-composer, performer

Click an artist name above to see in-stock items for that artist.

Sample The Album:

Descriptions, Reviews, &c.

"Synapse is the first single off (and a sort of appendix before the fact to) Autorhythm's project Songs For The Nervous System that culminates in an album later this spring. It has a driving and asymmetric "Can meets John Bender"-like quality paired with a warm soundscape reminiscent of Cluster's Zuckerseit. The ambient B side Oxytocin features a recording of a Soviet era Ocean 209 transistor radio that adds to the ethereal other worldly dimension of this beautifully languid neo-Kosmische gem.

Except for mixing and minor adjustments the music was made wholly without computers, and Autorhythm's Joakim Forsgren pushes his vintage synths out of their comfort zones in the same way that Captain Beefheart and Miles Davis did their musicians. Conventional sounds and solutions have been consciously avoided, but still there is a sense of effortlessness to the music, like it couldn't have been done in another way. Like it's mainstream pop music for a dysfunctional but beautiful parallel world. While in no way a retro project, this music nevertheless conjures an era when electronic music was still a new and undefined field, and at times captures that same elusive feeling of promise and wonder that pioneering artists like Mort Garson, Bruce Haack and Delia Derbyshire did, before conventions taught us the correct way to create, exploit and consume electronica.

Both tracks were mixed by Swedish dystopian electronic music mastermind Christian Gabel and mastered by Mell Dettmer. The album Songs For The Nervous System will be released in May 2023."-thanatosis

Artist Biographies

"Joakim Forsgren (b. 1981, Skutskär) lives and works in Stockholm, Sweden. He holds an MFA in Art in the Public Realm/Fine Arts from Konstfack and has been awarded working grants from the The Swedish Arts Grants Committee, Konstfrämjandet and Region Gävleborg among others. Recent solo exhibitions include The Mind-Body Problem at Karolinska Institutet (2019), Underjordiska förbindelser (Underground Connections) in a former bomb shelter in Ljusdal (2018) and Andra svepningen (Second Shroud) at Växjö konsthall (2016). Forsgren's work has also been shown in group exhibitions such as the 9th Göteborg International Biennal for Contemporary Art (2017) and the 9th Shiryaevo Biennale (2017)."-Johanna Thorell

-Joakim Forsgren Website (

Have a better biography or biography source? Please Contact Us so that we can update this biography.

Track Listing:


1. Synapse 02:04


1. Oxytocin 04:56

Related Categories of Interest:

Vinyl Recordings
7" New
Piano & Keyboards
European Improvisation, Composition and Experimental Forms
Solo Artist Recordings
New in Experimental & Electronic Music
Recent Releases and Best Sellers

Search for other titles on the label:
thanatosis produktion.

Recommended & Related Releases:

The Squid's Ear Magazine

The Squid's Ear Magazine

© 2002-, Squidco LLC