The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

The trio of Daichi Yoshikawa (feedback), Paul Abbott (drums) and Seymour Wright (sax) in two 20 minute excerpts from two separate performances at Cafe OTO in 2013, bare exuberant and exhilarating free improvisation on the cutting edge.

lll人 (Daichi Yoshikawa / Paul Abbott / Seymour Wright)

lll人 (Daichi Yoshikawa / Paul Abbott / Seymour Wright): Gjerhan (Otoroku)

Label: Otoroku    
Released in: Great Britain    

"This recording includes two bare twentyminute excerpts from separate performances at Cafe OTO.

From subterranea, sweat, haze and dedication emerging out of intimate and intense weekly meetings begun in 2009 - their first, 2012 public performance, squeezed into a London basement was a sheer, vexed and exhilarating smack of organic, heterodyning ideas, and taut, lowbeating lumps.


With the economy of familiar/traditional raw tools feedback, drumkit, altosaxophone, time, space and emotion lll人 move from molten musical pasts to grow future pleasures in sound.

The ingredients are familiar, but the listening is not.

At its heart is a still, undecorated concentration fuelling an extreme testing of limbs, language and order. This has no concern with collapsing difference into a vogueish flattened mass froth, but searches - forensically, ceaselessly - for something to chew, in the challenge of discretion and integrity or asylum in the body of its instruments.

Akilsakilan learning, Doughnut.

Finding, twisting and hammering out an expanding musical universe balanced only by its own logics - lll人 have few obvious comparisons. Their performances are consistent radical negotiations of the emotional, physical and social energies of the environments they sound out.

Perfectly Reasonable.

The second side was recorded at a summer fundraiser concert for Project Fukushima (This followed a solo performance by Evan Parker who later joined the group for a quartet) and the first as part of the inaugural INTERSECT festival four months later."-Otoroku

Limited edition of 500 LPs. 180g vinyl. 5 colour (!!!) printed inner and outer sleeves. The main image above is taken from the inner sleeve.

See all items in the Vinyl Recordings category

Related Categories of Interest:

Vinyl Recordings
Improvised Music
Free Improvisation
London & UK Free Improvisation Scene
Trio Recordings

Search for other titles on the Otoroku label.

Other Recommended Releases:
XT (Seymour Wright / Paul Abbot)
(Pleasure of the Text Records)
Parker, Evan / Seymour Wright
Tie the Stone to the Wheel
Prevost / Allum / Kanngiesser / Kasyansky / Lazaridou / Yoshikawa
Workshop Concert at Cafe Oto
Brotzmann / Adasiewicz / Edwards / Noble
Mental Shake [VINYL]
Wooley, Nate & Seymour Wright
About Trumpet and Saxophone
Moore, Thurston & Mats Gustafsson
Vi Ar Alla Guds Slavar [VINYL]
Brotzmann, Peter / Steve Noble / John Edwards
The Worse The Better: Live at Cafe OTO, January 2010 [VINYL REPRESS]
Kuchen / Rowe / Wright

(Another Timbre)
Coleman / Kasyansky / Wright
control and its opposites
(Another Timbre)
Abbott, Paul / Leo Dumont
loiter volcano
(Another Timbre)
Lexer, Sebastian & Seymour Wright
(Another Timbre)
Various Artists
That Mysterious Forest Below London Bridge

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Chant, Tom / John Edwards / Eddie Prevost
All Change
Nelson, Matt
Lower Bottoms [VINYL]
Lonberg-Holm, Fred / Frode Gjerstad
Life On Sandpaper
Gate, The (feat Tim Dahl / Nate Wooley)
Stench [VINYL]
Edwards / Sanders / Tilbury
A Field Perpetually At The Edge Of Disorder
Bohlen / Reimann Duo
2nd Floor
(Creative Sources)
Ammann, Dieter
The Freedom of Speech
(Hat [now] ART)
ISKRA 1903
South on the Northern (1988/9) [2 CDs]
Price: $20.70
Out of Stock
Special Order
If ordered we
expect to ship within:
4 weeks

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 16.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

Limited edition of 500 LPs. 180g vinyl. 5 colour (!!!) printed inner and outer sleeves. The main image above is taken from the inner sleeve.


Label: Otoroku
Catalog ID: ROKU 011LP
Squidco Product Code: 19432

Format: LP
Condition: New
Released: 2014
Country: Great Britain
Packaging: LP
Recorded at Cafe OTO on August 28th, 2013 (Fukushima) by Stuart Bannister, and on December 7th 2013 (Intersect) by Kate Arnold.


Seymour Wright-alto saxophone

Paul Abbott-drums

Daichi Yoshikawa-electronics

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:


1. Intersect


1. Fukushima