The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

The trio of Eric Revis on bass, Kris Davis on piano and Andrew Cyrille on drums recording in the studio in NYC, vital, introspective and sophisticated free trio work spanning generations in spontaneous compositions and one each from Monk, Jarrett, and Revis.

Revis, Eric
City of Asylum

Revis, Eric: City of Asylum (Clean Feed)
Label: Clean Feed    
Released in: Portugal    

"Can you tell when a straight-ahead jazz performance - live or recorded - is also an experimental one? No? We can: it happens when Eric Revis is involved, being this double bassist the not-enough-recognized link between Betty Carter and Peter Brotzmann. "City of Asylum" was born from an idea with improbable potential to become a reality - his thought was: what about if I start a trio with a free jazz veteran and a post-everything rising star, would that work? And what about if those roles are represented by Andrew Cyrille, Cecil Taylor's drummer from the mid-Sixties to the mid-Seventies and now an established, mainstream voice, and young Kris Davis, maybe the most expressive and surprisingly minimalistic of the present day creative pianists? Strange? Not so: since the first gathering a spark happened and this is a trio in continuous development. There's only three compositions played, by Thelonious Monk, Keith Jarrett and Revis himself; the rest are improvisations. So cohesive that it seems written note by note."-Clean Feed Records

See all items in the Clean Feed category

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Clean Feed
Trio Recordings

Search for other titles on the Clean Feed label.

Recommended & Related Releases:
Price: $14.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 5609063002768

Label: Clean Feed
Catalog ID: CF 277
Squidco Product Code: 17679

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2013
Country: Portugal
Packaging: Cardstock gatefold foldover
Recorded on April 12th, 2012


Kris Davis-piano

Eric Revis-double bass

Andrew Cyrille-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Vadim 4:07

2. Egon 5:13

3. Gallop's Gallop 7:12

4. Sot Avast 6:16

5. For Bill Traylor 7:40

6. Prayer 4:40

7. St. Cyr 8:28

8. Harry Partch Laments the Dying of the Moon.. and then Laughs 3:09

9. Question 5:48

10. City of Asylum 6:38

Other Releases
With These Artists: