The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Nozen is a crossroads of contemporary jazz, musique actuelle and the musical traditions of Jewish Eastern Europe, contrasting styles giving birth to a deep and spontaneous music.

Nozen: Nisenson / Tanguay / Falaise / Mailloux
Live au Upstairs

Nozen: Nisenson / Tanguay / Falaise / Mailloux: Live au Upstairs (Malasartes)
Label: Malasartes    
Released in: Canada    

"Nozen is at the crossroads of contemporary jazz, musique actuelle and the musical traditions of Jewish Eastern Europe, and this meeting of contrasting styles gives birth to a music at once spontaneous and deep. Tanguay, Falaise and Mailloux, three of the most active musicians on the jazz and msusique actuelle scene in Quebec, joined the composer and multi-saxophonist from Argentina Damian Nisenson, and together they offer us their first CD, recorded live, an invitation to travel between two worlds: the melodies inspired of a vanished past, enveloped in a very contemporary sound."-Malasartes

"Bernard Falaise. Born Montréal, Québec, 1965. Residence: Montréal, Québec. Composer, Performer (guitar).

Bernard Falaise was born in Montréal, where he currently lives. He plays electric guitar, composes and improvises - all with evident joy - for Miriodor, Klaxon Gueule, les Projectionnistes, Diesel and other groups. He has written for the Ensemble contemporain de Montréal (ECM), Quartango and the Isis Quartet, and has created music for exhibitions, television, the theatre and dance. Allergic to labels, Falaise explores acid rock, twelve-tone waltzes and industrial tangos with equal enthusiasm."

-ActuelleCD (

See all items in the Ambiances Magnetiques category

Related Categories of Interest:

Ambiances Magnetiques

Improvised Music
Musique Actuelle
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Quartet Recordings

Search for other titles on the Malasartes label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Disguises, The (Thomson / Caloia / Charuest / Hood / Tanguay)
Songs 7 Dances from The Muted Note
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Trio Derome Guilbeault Tanguay
2004-2012 [4 CD Box]
(Ambiances Magnetiques)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Wilkinson, Alan
(Bo Weavil Recordings)
Laplante, Travis
Heart Protector: Solo Tenor Saxophone
Lindsay / Mendoza / Smith / Walter
(Balance Point Acoustics)
Robbins, Pete Unnamed Quartet
Live in Brooklyn
(Not Two Records)
Marcus, Michael
For Yes!
(Not Two Records)
Delta Saxophone Quartet
Uneasy Dreams [DVD]
Lopes, Luis Humanization 4tet
Der Rote Bereich (Mobus / Mahall / Steidle)
ElSaffar, Amir and Hafez Modirzadeh
Radif Suite
(Pi Recordings)
Burn / Thomas / Fell
The Middle Distance
(Another Timbre)
Grdina's Box Cutter
New Rules for Noise
Dijkstra, Jorrit
Pillow Circles
(Clean Feed)
Knuffke, Kirk Trio
Amnesia Brown
(Clean Feed)
Miguel, Sei
Esfingico - Suite for a Jazz Combo
(Clean Feed)
Fields, Scott Ensemble
(Clean Feed)
Horvey, Amy
Berthiaume, Antoine
Small Tease
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Tabassian / Martel / Tabassian
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Derome, Jean & Joane Hetu
Shaman - Nous percons les oreilles
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Klaxon Gueule
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Doneda, Michael
Anatomie des clefs
Yoshihide / Ozeki / Gustafsson
with records
Sealed Knot, The (Beins / Davies / Wastell)
and we disappear
(Another Timbre)
Dorner / Schroder / Thomas / Steidle
Das Treffen
Price: $10.80
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 771028226122

Label: Malasartes
Catalog ID: MAM 011
Squidco Product Code: 12584

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2009
Country: Canada
Packaging: Cardstock Gatefold Sleeve
Recorded in concert at Upstairs, Montreal June 12-13, 2009


Damian Nisenson-tenor sax, alto sax, compositions

Bernard Falaise-guitar

Jean Felix Mailloux-bass

Pierre Tanguay-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Ca Coule, Ca Coule! 6:39

2. No Soap 6:05

3. Quién Me Corre? 4:42

4. Jour de Mariage 6:49

5. El Loco 5:55

6. There's a Cat in Da House 6:27

7. No Es Bueno Que el Hombre Esté Solo 3:41

8. Stop Jumping! 4:43

9. A Hole in My Shoe 7:27

10. Danza del Pantalon 3:07

11. Spread the News 6:39

12. No Milk No Sugar 10:57