The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC


Fanfare Pourpour / Hollmer, Lars
Karusell Musik

Fanfare Pourpour / Hollmer, Lars: Karusell Musik (Monsieur Fauteux)
Label: Monsieur Fauteux    
Released in: Canada    

"Recorded "live" in the studio, Karusell Musik delivers 17 compositions by and with Swedish accordionist Lars Hollmer, orchestrated by Jean Derome for the Fanfare Pourpour. The Fanfare - an authentic large dance ensemble like they don't make 'em anymore, with a brass section, saxes, clarinets, guitars, banjo, accordions, violins, and percussion - invites you to discover or rediscover the songs and tunes of Lars Hollmer.

Lars Hollmer has travelled the world with his timeless melodies full of naive beauty and dancing lyricism, in a number of musical projects. He also excels in the art of collaboration, either with Japanese musicians (the Global Home project), virtuoso accordion players (the group Accordion Tribe) or big Quebecois fanfares!

In the late '80s, he had even recruited sax player Jean Derome in his Looping Home Orchestra, on Fred Frith's recommendation. And so it is egged on by Derome that the Fanfare Pourpour embarked on this adventure with Hollmer. A first - successful - attempt was made at the Festival international de musique incroyable in the summer of 2004, followed by a more official concert at the Festival International de Musique Actuelle de Victoriaville in May 2005, both times with the composer.

In October 2006, Hollmer was back on Québec soil for a week of rehearsals and recordings: the Fanfare backing up Lars; Lars writing for the Fanfare. A double rapture where the Swede's tunes find a new home and the Quebecois fanfare is given pieces that were clearly meant for it."-Dame

Related Categories of Interest:

Ambiances Magnetiques
Improvised Music
Improvised Rock
RIO (Rock in Opposition)
Jean Derome
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
June 2007

Search for other titles on the Monsieur Fauteux label.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Ducret, Marc
Tower, Vol. 4
Blue Moustache
(Z6 Records)
Sao Paulo Underground (Featuring Rob Mazurek)
Tres Cabecas Loucuras
Bryan and the Haggards
Still Alive and Kickin' Down the Walls
(Hot Cup Records)
Avram, Ana-Maria / Dumitrescu, Iancu
Live in London (I)
(Edition Modern)
Smith's Mbira, Wadada Leo
Dark Lady Of The Sonnets
Sharp, Elliott / Andrea Centazzo
Coleman, Steve and Five Elements
The Mancy of Sound
(Pi Recordings)
Morris, Joe
Wildlife Traits
(Riti Records)
Walter / Halvorson / Evans
Electric Fruit
(Thirsty Ear)
Mitchell, Nicole Sonic Projections
Emerald Hills
Coleman, Steve and Five Elements
Harvesting Semblances and Affinities
(Pi Recordings)
Mahanthappa / Lehman
Dual Identity
(Clean Feed)
Liebman / Evan Parker / Bianco
(Red Toucan)
World Heritage, The
Invitation to the World Heritage [DVD + CD]
Swan Dive [DVD + CD]
Morris, Joe
Morris, Joe
(Aum Fidelity)
Goebbels, Heiner
The Italian Concerto
(I Dischi di Angelica)
VRIL (Drake / Simonis / Cutler / Omer)
The Fatal Duckpond
(Recommended Records)
D'Angelo, Andrew
Skadra Degis
Jensson, Hilmar's TYFT
Smell the Difference
Perowsky, Ben
Esopus Opus
Breaking the Mold
(Clean Feed)
(Pi Recordings)
Wilson 6tet, Tony
Pearls Before Swine
(Drip Audio)
Price: $12.50
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

Label: Monsieur Fauteux
Catalog ID: MFMV 16
Squidco Product Code: 8239

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2007
Country: Canada
Packaging: Cardstock Gatefold Sleeve

Lars Hollmer

Luzio Altobelli

Lou Babin

Suzanne Babin

Marie-Soleil Bélanger

Éric Bernard

Guido Del Fabbro

Jean Derome

Jaco Duguay

Fanfare Pourpour

Normand Guilbeault

Lars Hollmer

Roy Hübler

Christine Lajeunesse

Nicolas Letarte

Stéphane Ménard

Pierre Emmanuel Poizat

Luc Proulx

Jean Sabourin

Pierre Tanguay

Némo Venba

Claude Vendette

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Ännu Ingen Pelle 2:21

2. En grekisk faster 2:24

3. Änte Flöttar ja te sjöss 2:15

4. Arvevals 2:45

5. Karusell musik 4:16

6. Inte Quanta 3:01

7. Avlägsen strandvals 2:32

8. Skiss Mellan Brest och Segosero 2:20

9. Experiment 2:15

10. Cirkus 1 3:29

11. Cirkus 2 1:54

12. Sarasnoa 2:23

13. Eyeliner 2:38

14. Det måste bli gjort 1:44

15. Boeves Psalm 3:04

16. Pompen 3:31

17. Simfågeldans 5:37