The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Expanding their duo into a sextet with the addition of strings (Sara Parkins, Maggie Parkins), piano (Sylvie Courvoisier) and voice (Maja Ratkje), Ikue Mori and Zeena Parkins have created a compelling and varied soundscape inspired by fairy stories the world over.

Phantom Orchard Orchestra
Through The Looking Glass

Phantom Orchard Orchestra: Through The Looking Glass (Tzadik)

Label: Tzadik    
Released in: USA    

"Expanding their duo into a sextet with the addition of strings, piano and voice, Ikue and Zeena have created a compelling and varied soundscape inspired by fairy stories the world over. Combining plucked and bowed strings, sinuous vocals, driving percussion and Ikue Mori's trademark electronics into a balanced and unified whole, Through the Looking Glass is a kaleidoscope of exotic and beautiful sonorties filled with drama, mystery and a modern orchestral sweep. Three years in the making, Through the Looking-glass is Phantom Orchard's most ambitious and accomplished production yet."-Tzadik

See all items in the Tzadik category

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Free Improvisation
Electro-Acoustic Improv
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Parkins, Zeena
Mori, Ikue
Unusual Vocal Forms
Electronic Forms
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Sextet Recordings

Search for other titles on the Tzadik label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Parkins / Wooley / Westera / Vuletic
Fugitive Beautee
(Ignoring Gravity Music)
Mori, Ikue
Light In The Shadow
Ratkje, Maja S. K.
In Dialogue with Eugeniusz Rudnik
Zorn, John
Mori, Ikue
Hex Kitchen

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Zorn, John
The Song Project Live At Lpr
Amon: The Book Of Angels Volume 24
Berger, Karl
Gently Unfamiliar
TiPPLE (Gjerstad / Norton / Watson)
No Sugar on Anything
Guionnet, Jean-Luc & Eric La Casa
Home: Handover [4 CD SET]
Udu Calls Trio feat. William Parker
The Vancouver Tapes
(Long Song Records)
Warren, Geoff
The Quartet Album
Dunmall, Paul / Philip Gibbs / Neil Metcalfe
The Ravens Look
Watts, Trevor
Carrier, Francois / Michel Lambert / Alexey Lapin
The Russian Concerts Volume 2
Rodiriguez, Roberto / Zorn, John
Aguares: The Book Of Angels Volume 23
Chenard, Sylvie / Alexandre Dubuc / Cathy Heyden / Remi Leclerc
(Tour de Bras)
Evans, Peter Quintet
Destination: Void
(More Is More)
Volkov, Ilan conducts Ana-Maria Avram / Iancu Dumitrescu
Hyperion International Ensemble
(Edition Modern)
Dumitrescu, Iancu / Ana-Maria Avram
Paris-London (III), Spectrum XXI Festival
(Edition Modern)
Morris, Joe / Chris Cretella
(Glacial Erratic)
Spontaneous Music Ensemble
Oliv & Familie (1968-9)
Doneda, Michel
Everybody Digs Michel Doneda
(Relative Pitch)
Triac (Tatone / Seracini / Polidoro)
In A Room
Uchihashi, Kazuhisa / Noid / Tamara Wilhelm
I Hope It Doesn't Work
(Mikroton Recordings)
Smith, Wadada Leo
The Great Lakes Suites [2 CDs]
Price: $13.95
Out of Stock
Special Order
If ordered we
expect to ship within:
4 weeks
Special Order
Special Order
If ordered we
expect to ship within:
4 weeks

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 702397400325

Label: Tzadik
Catalog ID: TZA-CD-4003
Squidco Product Code: 19212

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2014
Country: USA
Packaging: Digipack - 3 panel
Recorded at EastSide Sound in New York City, on October 18th and 19th, 2013, by Marc Urselli.


Sylvie Courvoisier-piano

Ikue Mori-electronics

Zeena Parkins-acoustic harp, electric harp, celesta

Sara Parkins-violin

Maja Solveig Kjelstrup Ratkje-voice, electronics

Maggie Parkins-cello

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Luminous Fairies 4:19

2. Goblin Spider 9:27

3. The Little Mermaid 3:01

4. The Snow Queen 2:22

5. Alice In Wonderland 5:11

6. Kaguya 4:07

7. Snow White 3:32

8. Hedgehog In The Fog 4:28

9. The Beauty And The Beast 6:55

10. Psyche And Cupid 3:20

11. The Ugly Duckling 2:25

12. Sleeping Beauty 1:30