The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

London clarinetist Noel Taylor in a meeting with pianist Noel Taylor, delicate and beautifully paced duos that borrow from many genres and modern approaches to create informed and stimulating dialog.

Meinhold, Niko / Noel Taylor
Border Patrol

Meinhold, Niko / Noel Taylor: Border Patrol (Citystream)
Label: Citystream    
Released in: Great Britain    

"Noel Taylor is the clarinetist of the recently reviewed Splatter CD, here forming a duet with German pianist Niko Meinhold. The intro of the first piece already gives a great sense of direction: this duo can create suspense : sparse clarinet tones, and the use of extended techniques on the piano strings, make you want to know what is coming next, how these otherworldly sounds will evolve, merge, bounce back. Without working with themes or even recognisable patterns, the two musicians master and integrate the legacy of their training : from classical music, jazz, blues to more modern aspects of new music and avant-garde, nicely navigating between romantic lyricism and abstract tension and discovery, this is music with character and vision. Both are also great at using silence and pace in the development of their improvisations. Their lack of urgency gives most pieces a very careful, even cautious feeling, with the quality of the notes getting preference over their quantity or even of the complexity of the interaction."-Stef, FreeJazzStef

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Duo Recordings

Get additional information at Freejazz-Stef @ Blogspot

Search for other titles on the Citystream label.

Recommended & Related Releases:
Price: $12.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 884502531237

Label: Citystream
Catalog ID: CTYCD00103
Squidco Product Code: 15452

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2010
Country: Great Britain
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded at the John Lill Music Centre, University of Hertfordshire in 2009.


Niko Meinhold-piano

Noel Taylor-clarinet

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. No Man's Land 8:49

2. Plain Cuckoo 9:40

3. Not Mixolodian 3:49

4. Mercy Sleep 7:06

5. Time Over 10:11

6. Tumble 4:25

7. Gimcrack Serenade 4:52

8. Separate Thoughts 3:07

Other Releases
With These Artists: