The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Montreal's great jazz trio of saxophonist Jean Derome, bassist Normand Guilbeault, & drummer Pierre Tanguay, in an album of original compositions and work by Dolphy, Ellington, Kirk, Mengelberg & Strayhorn.

Trio Derome Guilbeault Tanguay
Danse a L'Anvers

Trio Derome Guilbeault Tanguay: Danse a L'Anvers (Ambiances Magnetiques)
Label: Ambiances Magnetiques    
Released in: Canada    

"The first disc of the trio featured compositions by Jean Derome only, their second, The Feeling of Jazz, a replay of great compositions dip into the history of jazz. This third release, Danse à l'Anvers combines the two visions: 5 compositions by Jean Derome and 6 standards including: a piece by Duke Ellington, Billy Strayhorn, Roland Kirk, Misha Mengelberg and two by Eric Dolphy.

One of the most active and eclectic musicians on the Canadian creative music scene, Jean Derome has managed to earn the recognition of a larger public, a rare feat in that field. Thanks to his large-scale musique actuelle projects, his compositions, his work as an improviser, his jazz groups and his music for the screen and the stage, Derome ranks as a major creative force, in Quebec and abroad. He is experienced and innovative on both saxophone and flute, and his unique writing style cannot be mistaken for anyone else's. Sensitive and powerful, his music often features a funny strike that makes its complex nature more inviting."-Ambiances Magnetiques

See all items in the Ambiances Magnetiques category

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Musique Actuelle
Jean Derome
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Trio Recordings
Trio Recordings

Search for other titles on the Ambiances Magnetiques label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Trio Derome Guilbeault Tanguay
2004-2012 [4 CD Box]
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Trio Derome Guilbeault Tanguay
(Ambiances Magnetiques)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Brotzmann, Peter / William Parker / Hamid Drake
Song Sentimentale [VINYL]
Thumbscrew (Halvorson / Formanek / Fujiwara)
Rempis / Abrams / Ra + Baker
Perihelion [2 CDs]
Haino, Keiji / Jim O'Rourke / Oren Ambarchi
I Wonder If You Noticed... [VINYL 2 LPs]
(Black Truffle)
El Grande, Jono
Melody of a Muddled Mason
(Rune Grammofon)
Corner, Philip
Through Two More-Than-Mysterious Barricades (Improvizations After Francois Couperin) [VINYL]
Blacksberg, Daniel Trio (w/ Matt Engle & Mike Szekely)
Perilous Architecture [VINYL]
Margots, The
Vicente / Pinheiro / Faustino / Franco
Clocks And Clouds
Wastell, Mark
Caressed On The Brow By Unseen Hands
Live in Nickelsdorf [VINYL]
Akiyama, Tetuzi / Tom Carter / Christian Kiefer
The Darkened Mirror [VINYL]
Ughi, Federico Quartet (Ughi / Schug / Knuffke / Johnson)
Federico Ughi Quartet
Mostly Other People Do the Killing
Slippery Rock
(Hot Cup Records)
Amado, Rodrigo's Motion Trio, & Jeb Bishop
Burning Live at Jazz Ao Centro
(Jacc Records)
Fournier / Mitchell / Taylor / Reid / Santacruz
Urabe, Masayoshi
(Utech Records)
Lamb, Catherine
Three Bodies (Moving)
(Another Timbre)
Weston / Laubrock / Marshall
Carrier / Lambert / Lapin
All Out
Ward, Greg's
Phonic Juggernaut
(Thirsty Ear)
Gauthier Goatette, The Jeff
Open Source
Hemphill, Julius and Peter Kowald
Live at Kassiopeia
Jones, Darius Trio
Big Gurl (Smell My Dream)
(Aum Fidelity)
Price: $14.95
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 771028120529

Label: Ambiances Magnetiques
Catalog ID: AM 205
Squidco Product Code: 14587

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2011
Country: Canada
Packaging: Cardstock foldover
Recorded on November 22nd and 23rd, 2010 at Studio 270 in Montreal, CA by Robert Langlois.


Jean Derome-alto saxophone, baritone saxophone, flute, voice

Normand Guilbeault-contrabass

Pierre Tanguay-percussion

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Half-Way House 4:00

2. Dooji Wooji 5:31

3. Rip, Rig And Panic 5:30

4. Danse À l'Anvers 4:51

5. Kissleg 6:10

6. Eufnag 6:34

7. 17 West 4:35

8. Straight Up And Down 5:24

9. Lettre À Rainer Wiens 6:38

10. I'm Checkin' Out, Goon-Bye 7:39

11. Poor Wheel 4:44