The Squid's Ear Magazine
Squidco: Improvised, Composed & Unusual Music from around the globe
Cart Checkout   Log In/Register
Squidco? New Releases Just In Restocked Upcoming
Artist Title Label

Advanced Search:
 Artist   Title   Label   Country       Sort:
Search only in this category:
All Fields Name Personnel
Country Label Album Title
Album Artist Squidco Product Code Description

6 products found   Page 1 of 1   -- Go to Page
  Product Price      
Blue Reality Quartet (Joe McPhee / Michael Marcus / Jay Rosen / Warren Smith): Ella's Island

Label: Mahakala Music
Product Code: 32394
Catalog Code: MAHA 039
Country: USA
Price: $13.95

In Stock

The 2nd album from the quartet of Joe McPhee on tenor saxophone, Warren Smith on vibraphone, Michael Marcus on reeds and Jay Rosen on drums, formed from a 2018 Jazzgalerie Nickelsdorf date with NY drummer Jay Rosen rounding out the quartet, this album extends their accessibly relaxed and creatively magnificent approach to free and structured jazz.

Anderson, Chad (Anderson / Smith / Stephenson / Amba / Ankhitek): Mellifluous Excursions Vol. 1 - Where You Been

Label: Mahakala Music
Product Code: 32050
Catalog Code: MAHA-033
Country: USA
Price: $13.95

In Stock

A solid album of buoyant collective improvisation led by NY drummer Chad Anderson, with vibraphonist Warren Smith adding an optimistic voice to the quintet of relative newcomer, sax and flute player Zoh Amba and bassist Barry Stephenson, the sophisticated and generally upbeat sound of the group taking a stinging tone on two tracks with the sharp observations from The Ankhitek.

McPhee, Joe / Michael Marcus / Jay Rosen / Warren Smith: Blue Reality Quartet!

Label: Mahakala Music
Product Code: 30796
Catalog Code: MAHA-015
Country: USA
Price: $13.95

In Stock

Woodwind player Michael Marcus' duo with drummer Jay Rosen performed with fellow reedsman Joe McPhee and a 2nd drummer at the Jazzgalerie Nickelsdorf in 2018, the concept so appealing that he took it to the studio in New York, with Warren Smith handling the 2nd drum part and cementing this unusually orchestrated and elegantly passionate band as "The Blue Reality Quartet".

Marcus, Michael: Stone Jump

Label: Not Two
Product Code: 30386
Catalog Code: MW 1015
Country: Poland
Price: $13.95

In Stock

Michael Marcus composed these lyrical jazz works to create a message about "New York City realities", recorded in two studio sessions with Marcus on soprano & tenor sax, octavin, A clarinet & tarogato, along with Denton Darien on piano, John Austria on Fender Rhodes, Tyler Mitchell on bass, Warren Smith on drums & percussion, and Lawrence Feldman on alto flute.

Ware, David S. New Quartet: Theatre Garonne, 2008

Label: Aum Fidelity
Product Code: 28230
Catalog Code: AUM 113CD
Country: USA
Price: $14.95

In Stock

Aum Fidelity's David S. Ware Archive series continues with this excellent live quartet recording from 2008 at Theatre Garonne in Toulouse, France with the late tenor saxophonist performing with Joe Morris on guitar, William Parker on bass and Warren Smith on drums, presenting expanded and re-arranged compositions from their recent "Shakti" album.

Finn, James Trio: Plaza de Toros

Label: Clean Feed
Product Code: 07517
Catalog Code: CF034
Country: Portugal
Price: $15.95

In Stock

About Squidco Contact Us Log In/Register Squidco?
The Squid's Ear Magazine

Rapid SSL





American Express

© 2002-, Squidco LLC