The Squid's Ear Magazine

Anderson / Dunmall / Gibbs / Hymas: 21st Century V-Bop (Slam)

Covering a vast landscape sonically & stylistically, the quintet of saxophonist Paul Dunmall, guitarist Philip Gibbs, keyboardist Tony Hymas & drummer Mark Anderson were captured live in the studio.

Price: $14.95


In Stock

Quantity in Basket: None

Log In to use our Wish List Shipping Weight: 4.00 units

product information:

UPC: 5028386028420

Label: Slam
Catalog ID: CD 284
Squidco Product Code: 14020

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2010
Country: Great Britain
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded by Jonathan Scott live in one take at Bristol University Studio on August 8th, 2009.


Mark Anderson-drums

Paul Dunmall-tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone

Philip Gibbs-guitar

Tony Hymas- keyboard

Click an artist name above to see in-stock items for that artist.

Sample The Album:

Descriptions, Reviews, &c.

"An album that proves that spontaneous composition can be both melodic and groovy. Recorded live in the studio in one take, with no overdubs, 21st Century V-Bop covers a vast landscape both sonically and stylistically. From the raging opener of 'The Path of Non-evitability' to the drum sans bass of 'The Front', to the more pensive Mclaughlin dedication 'John's Intelligent Ears', the music covers all bases and moods through to the final fade out of the Big Note.

Tony Hymas will be best known for his work with Jeff Beck ( There and Back, Guitar Shop), Stanley Clarke, Jack Bruce and to a younger audience for his collaborations with Ursus Minor. Paul Dunmall is best known as a free improviser who has worked with many of the top improvisors worldwide,including Henry Grimes, Andrew Cyrille, Keith Tippett etc.. Apart from his work with Dunmall, Gibbs here provides fresh approaches to both rock and jazz guitar styles, with nods to Mclaughlin's technique and Hendrix's walls of sound, whilst drummer Anderson provides strength and groove alternately, with reference to the mighty cohort of fusion drummers past and the march of modern groove-based music into the future. If you thought all improvised music is necessarily directionless atonal and a-rhythmic, a re-evaluation could start with this CD."-Slam Productions

Track Listing:

1. The Path of Nonevitability 7:18

2. The Front 8:59

3. John's Intelligent Ears 11:34

4. Once More Into No-Thing 5:21

5. Mad Dash for the Exit 9:22

6. Preyer 10:13

7. A Knight on the Tiles 12:50

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
European Improvisation, Composition and Experimental Forms
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Quartet Recordings

Search for other titles on the label:

Recommended & Related Releases:

The Squid's Ear Magazine

The Squid's Ear Magazine

© 2002-, Squidco LLC