The Squid's Ear Magazine
Squidco: Improvised, Composed & Unusual Music from around the globe
Cart Checkout   Log In/Register
Squidco? New Releases Just In Restocked Upcoming
Artist Title Label

Vegan Dallas: Electro Griot (nunc.)

Rhythmically rich instrumental music crossing experimental, rock and compositional forms with an ear towards primitive and instinctual pulses, the French quartet of drummer & bass harpist Julein Chamla, percussionist Benjamin Flament, Simon Henocq on live electronics and guitarist Richard Comte explore innate pulses imbued with modern and urgent overtones.

Price: $13.45
Price Was: $14.95
Squidco 20th Anniversary Sale:
Save $1.50


In Stock

Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Log In to use our Wish List
product information:

UPC: 3426300100375

Label: nunc.
Catalog ID: NUNC001
Squidco Product Code: 32075

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2017
Country: France
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded at Studio L'Artscene, near Lyon, France, by Adrian Bourget.


Julien Chamla-drums, bass harp

Richard Comte-guitar, voices

Benjamin Flament-percussions, voices

Simon Henocq-electronics

Click an artist name above to see in-stock items for that artist.

Highlight an instrument above
and click here to Search for albums with that instrument.

Artist Biographies:

"Throughout hundreds of performances all around Europe on the experimental, improvised music and alternative rock scenes, Julien Chamla developed a unique vocabulary focused on tension, roughness and repetition. Eager to unlearn and to strip down the musical matter, his work is now mainly connected to primitive, trance and ritualistic music. Amongst others, he's involved in the bands Tripes, Helved Rüm, Ritual Extra, Aquaserge, and many dance and circus projects."

-Hippie Diktat Website (

Have a better biography or biography source? Please Contact Us so that we can update this biography.

"Richard Comte is focused on the sonic possibilities of the guitar, drawing timeless spaces, from loud immersive drones to spacious resonances bordering on silence itself. He played with improvisers Simon H. Fell, Mark Sanders, Shabaka Hutchings, Mars Williams, Jim Black, and he interpreted contemporary music pieces from Michael Pissaro, Eliane Radigue, Fausto Romitelli. He works also in the field of contemporary dance, theater and visual arts. In 2017 he founded Nunc., a label dedicated to liberate and open music."

-Richard Comte Website (

Have a better biography or biography source? Please Contact Us so that we can update this biography.

"Benjamin Flament is a vibraphonist and a percussionist who works with electricity, electronics and metal instruments - all built by himself. In 2005 he met bass player Joachim Florent, and began a prolific collaboration which resulted in the bands RADIATION10, MeTaL-O-PHoNe ("12 points" laureate) and White Light 4tet. In 2011, Flament founded We Are All Americans Quartet with Hasse Poulsen and a new duo with Clément Janinet (violin). He is the co-founder of the French collective and label Coax with Julien Desprez and also performs with Sylvain Rifflet, ONJ Franck Tortiller, Han Bennink, Michel Portal."

-Serious (

Have a better biography or biography source? Please Contact Us so that we can update this biography.

"After studying electroacoustic composition, Simon Henocq turned to live electronic, parallel to the guitar that he practiced since adolescence.

He played with the duo Helved Rüm (with Julien Chamla), with the group Vegan Dallas (with Benjamin Flament, Richard Comte, Julien Chamla, Julie Lardrot). He plays guitar in the Coax Orchestra (directed by Yann Joussein) and transmedia project " Naufrage de la jellyfish" (with Jacques Di Donato, Isabelle Duthoit, Nicolas Nageotte, Lionel Guibout) ... He improvises with guitarist Julien Desprez' project Brazil Mashup , immersive performances for 4 video screens and 10 musician.

He is actively involved in the artistic direction of the Coax collective as well as in the development of the Coax Records label, where he performs various projects as a sound engineer."

-Simon Henocq Website, translated by Google (

Have a better biography or biography source? Please Contact Us so that we can update this biography.
track listing:

1. Qty 0:57

2. Bibracte 4:39

3. Electro Griot 6:20

4. Do Vaudou 7:14

5. Gum Bass 3:44

6. Folivora 8:07

7. Tapirus 5:08

8. Bukka 4:54

9. Pinchack 5:07
sample the album:

descriptions, reviews, &c.

"Marked by primitive rhythms and sensations as much as by rich and complex sounds, the music of VEGAN DALLAS simultaneously evokes both distant imaginary sonorities and the urban universe around the Parisian peripherique. Convulsively constructed on a unique instrumentarium, VEGAN DALLAS' live set reveals the powerful life force embedded within each individual. The sounds penetrate the bodily organs, imprinting their rhythms on our cells, liberating our energy."-Nunc.

Also available on vinyl LP.
Related Categories of Interest:

Rock and Related
Percussion & Drums
European Improvisation, Composition and Experimental Forms
Quartet Recordings
New in Rock Forms
Recent Releases and Best Sellers

Search for other titles on the label:

Other Releases With These Artists:
Recommended & Related Releases:
Comte, Richard
Derive de la base et du sommet
Other Recommended Releases:
Comte, Richard
Innermap [VINYL]
Hippie Diktat
Gran Sasso [VINYL]
Vegan Dallas
Electro Griot [VINYL]
Hippie Diktat
Black Peplum [VINYL]
Villard, Fabrice / Pierre-Stephane Meuge
Musique Logique
Comte, Richard / Sebastien Lespinasse
Traverser Noir
Comte, Richard
Derive de la base et du sommet
Comte, Richard / Julien Pontvianne
Sunken Music
Comte, Richard
Travel Patterns [CD EP]
Comte, Richard
Hippie Diktat
Fire On
(Self Released)
Comte, Richard
Endless Tapes [CASSETTE]
Hippie Diktat
Gran Sasso
Roue Libre (Lanau / Comte / Biardeau)
Titanomakhia [CD EP]
Carnalisme (Gargaud / Grente / Ziemniak)
De Profundis
Foussat, Jean-Marc / Simon Henocq
(Fou Records)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Smith, Wadada Leo
String Quartets Nos. 1-12 [7-CD BOXSET]
Johnson, Max Trio (w/ Anna Webber / Michael Sarin)
Orbit Of Sound
(Unbroken Sounds)
M (feat. Ben Stapp / Fred Lonberg-Holm / Marco Colonna / Steve Swell)
Broken Songs
(Listen! Foundation (Fundacja Sluchaj!))
Takeda, Risa
The Sorcerer's Castle
(Cbzm Records)
Imaginary String Quintet (Philipp Wachsmann / David Leahy / Bruno Gustralla / Trevor Taylor / Catherine Hope Jones)
Wood: Paper, Paint, Sound
Shipp, Matthew Trio
World Construct
Fujii, Satoko / Joe Fonda
Thread Of Light
(Listen! Foundation (Fundacja Sluchaj!))
Attias, Michael / Simon Nabatov
Brooklyn Mischiefs
(Leo Records)

About Squidco Contact Us Log In/Register Squidco?
The Squid's Ear Magazine

Rapid SSL





American Express

© 2002-, Squidco LLC