The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2021, Squidco LLC

Dust Dive, The : Asleep or Awake Walk (Own Records)


Price: $13.45
Price Was: $14.95
Independence Day Sale:
Save $1.50


In Stock

Shipping Weight: 4.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Log In to use our Wish List
product information:

UPC: 4020796416126

Label: Own Records
Catalog ID: OWNREC #31
Squidco Product Code: 6153

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2005
Country: Belgium
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded and mixed by Jeff Hoskins at Lab Rat, Brooklyn, March-July 2003.


Laura Ortman-electric guitar, violin, vocals, samples, piano

Ken Switzer-organ, vocals

Bryan Zimmerman-vocals, samples, saw

Click an artist name above to see in-stock items for that artist.

Highlight an instrument above
and click here to Search for albums with that instrument.
track listing:

1) Olate North Parking Lot

2) Back Porches

3) Can't Afford Much Money

4) Main Street Anthem

5) I'd Rather Not Know

6) Perkins Flag is Getting Ragged

7) Lost Bird

8) Asleep or Awake Walk

9) Sirens in the Park at 11

10) Way Against the Sunlight

11) Daylight

12) Flatbush Adeline
descriptions, reviews, &c.
Brooklyn based trio The Dust Dive create a music that is forever locked in the dream world of memory. Their debut album, Asleep or Awake Walk, is a slow concoction of Laura Ortman's perennially descending guitar arpeggios and ghostly violin, mixed with Ken Switzer's plaintive chord organ, and Bryan Zimmerman's sung-spoken poetry, all resting on a bed of Ham radio transmissions and nature samples. Add to this each member's uniquely filtered vocals and counter vocals and you get an extremely subtle music that immediately transports you to forgotten memories, hobo trails, lonely rural nights, and parking lot hangouts.

Originally released in 2004 by free103point9, this is the European release that sports a deluxe booklet with Zimmerman's photographs, which perfectly illustrate the music's atmosphere and tone. -Patrick McCarthy
Related Categories of Interest:

Rock and Related
Song Based Music
NY Downtown & Metropolitan Jazz/Improv
May 2006

Other Releases With These Artists:
Hyrrokkin (Ed Ricart, Larkowski, Nagafuchi)
Pristine Origin [VINYL + REMIX CD]
(New Atlantis)
Moon, The
Good And Evil
Rocket Science
Evan Parker / Peter Evans / Craig Taborn / Sam Pluta
(More Is More)
Scarcity Of Tanks
Fear Is Not Conscience
(Total Life Society Records)
Scarcity Of Tanks
Vulgar Defender
(Total Life Society Records)
Cleveland, Barry
(MoonJune Records)
Frith, Fred & Danielle Palardy Roger
Pas de deux nouveau
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Ecstasy Mule
Ecstasy Mule Contemplates Hunting and Drinking When the Rainbow is Enuf
(Other Electricities)
Vasallo, Nick
The Burning
(Ars Nova Classics)
Meelkop, Roel
(Auf Abwegen)
(Utech Records)
Johnson, Richard Leo / Gregg Bendian
Who Knew Charlie Shoe?
(Lens Records)
Myers, David Lee
Newton's Rings
Ishida, Naoki
Tone Redust
(Quasi Pop)
Half Makeshift
Aphotic Leech
(Utech Records)
Forsyth, Chris / Wooley, Nate
The Duchess of Oysterville
(Creative Sources)
Greene Trio, Burton
On Tour
Eichmann, Dietrich / Arnal, Jeff
The Temperature Dropped Again
Dust Dive Flash, The
Tens of Thousands
Berthiaume, Antoine / Donato, Michel / Tanguay, Pierre
Ellen's Bar
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Renkel, Michael
Errorkoerper III
(Absinth Records)
Staiano, Moe!
The Lateness of Yearly Presentations
(Dephine Knormal Musik and Amanita Records)
plus Sounding Brass
(for T)
Anti-Sex Anti-Wiretapping (made in Taiwan)
(Little Enjoyer / Gameboy)
Bailey, Derek / Berthiaume, Antoine / Frith, Fred
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
AMMMusic 1966
(Recommended Records)
Recommended & Related Releases:

Search for other titles on the Own Records label.