The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

Douglas, Dave High Risk: Dark Territory (Greenleaf Music)

Electronic-inspired ensemble High Risk with Dave Douglas on trumpet, Jonathan Maron on bass, Mark Guiliana on drums and Shigeto on electronics, exploring the intersection of creative improvisation and modern electronic music production in persuasively rhythmic music.

Price: $14.95

In Stock

Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

product information:

UPC: 186980000497

Label: Greenleaf Music
Catalog ID: GRE-CD-1049
Squidco Product Code: 22270

Format: CD
Condition: Sale (New)
Released: 2016
Country: USA
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded at The Bunker in Brooklyn, New York on October 10th, 2014 by Geoff Countryman.


Dave Douglas-trumpet

Jonathon Maron-electronic bass, synthesizer bass

Mark Guiliana-acoustic drums, electronic drums


Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search
track listing:

1. Celine (6:43)

2. All the Pretty Horsepower (7:03)

3. Let's Get One Thing Straight (5:50)

4. Mission Acropolis (5:28)

5. Ridge Hill (3:56)

6. Neural (4:52)

7. Loom Large (6:20)
sample the album:

descriptions, reviews, &c.

"Dark Territory is a collection of new music from the creative electronic-inspired ensemble High Risk. Following the success of the group's eponymous release in 2015, this new album continues to explore the intersection of creative improvisation and modern electronic music production to create a unique sound that Pitchfork described as, "simultaneously chill and surprising, it's the sound of a group discovering a valid language, and then proceeding to push the limits of that new aesthetic."

Lead by two-time GRAMMY nominated trumpeter Dave Douglas, the album once again features Jonathan Maron (Groove Collective) on electric and acoustic bass, Mark Guiliana (Beat Music, Heernt, David Bowie) on electric and acoustic drums and DJ, producer and beatmaker Shigeto (Ghostly International) on electronics.

The material was recorded by five-time GRAMMY® nominated Geoff Countryman (Dr. Luke, Patti LaBelle, Wu-Tang Clan, Randy Brecker, Gregory Porter, Fred Hersch) and mixed by Steve Wall (Semi Precious Weapons, Matisyahu, Meshell Ndegeocello), and mastered by Mark Wilder."-Greenleaf Music

Other Releases With These Artists:
Recommended & Related Releases:

Search for other titles on the Greenleaf Music label.