The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

The 4th release from the piano-double bass-drums Belgian trio De Beren Gieren of Fulco Ottervanger (piano), Simon Segers (drums), and Lieven Van Pee (double bass), slowly morphing compositions of strong jazz compositions punctuated by short, informed works.

De Beren Gieren
One Mirrors Many

De Beren Gieren: One Mirrors Many (Clean Feed)

Label: Clean Feed    
Released in: Portugal    

"After the acclaimed partnership with Portuguese trumpeter Susana Santos Silva, put to record in The Detour Fish (2014), the Belgian trio De Beren Gieren is back to explore new territory. The main focus is still on the piano-double bass-drums format, but now, as the band announces, "adding an electronic sediment to our acoustic trio sound to create a multilayered, kaleidoscopic work of art".

The music keeps flowing "at the fractures of styles", combining jazz with elements coming from classical, rock and electro-acoustic music. The hybrid, ambiguous, identity of the music is the backbone of the concept followed by pianist Fulco Ottervanger in his compositions: "One Mirrors Many" describes the ambivalence of all things. And yes, what you'll find here has the effect of mirrors reflecting other mirrors. Distorted and twisted forms appear, disappear or simply change, sometimes very slowly. In the end, everything gathers in the same place: the point of arrival of this metamorphic journey is the point of departure, closing the circle and giving it an inner sense. It's so beautiful and so strange as something you can imagine in your wildest musical dreams..."-Clean Feed Records

See all items in the Clean Feed category

Related Categories of Interest:

Clean Feed

Improvised Music
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
Trio Recordings
Free Improvisation
New in Improvised Music
Recent Releases and Best Sellers

Search for other titles on the Clean Feed label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Gorilla Mask (Van Huffel / Fidezius / Fischerlehner)
Iron Lung
(Clean Feed)
Cambien, Jonas Trio
A Zoology of the Future
(Clean Feed)
Protean Reality
Protean Reality
(Clean Feed)
Cactus Truck
Are You FREE?
Sousa / Berthling / Ferrandini
Casa Futuro
(Clean Feed)
Lama + Joachim Badenhorst (Silva / Smith / Almedia)
The Elephant's Journey
(Clean Feed)
Nilssen's, Gard Acoustic Unity (Roligheten / Eldh / Nilssen)
(Clean Feed)
Lopes, Luis Lisbon Berlin Trio
The Line
(Clean Feed)
Velkro (Simon / Meidell / Candeias)
Don't Wait for the Revolution
(Clean Feed)
De Beren Gieren plus Susana Santos Silva
The Detour Fish (Live in Ljubljana)
(Clean Feed)
(Clean Feed)
Kullhammar / Aalberg / Zetterberg
Basement Sessions Vol. 2
(Clean Feed)
Hebert, John Trio
(Clean Feed)
Trespass Trio + Joe McPhee
Human Encore
(Clean Feed)
Anker, Lotte / Rodrigo Pinheiro / Hernani Faustino
(Clean Feed)
Fish, The
Moon Fish
(Clean Feed)
Bica, Carlos & Azul
Things About
(Clean Feed)
Heberer, Thomas Clarino
(Clean Feed)
Hertenstein / Niggenkemper / Heberer
(Clean Feed)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Mathisen / Svendsen / Wildhagen
(Clean Feed)
No Project Trio
Vol. II
De Looze, Bram (D Looze / St-Louis / Levin / Van Hemmen / Van Der Werf / Verheyen / Ullmann)
(Clean Feed)
Silva / Zetterberg / Lindval
If Nothing Else
(Clean Feed)
Left Exit (Feat Michael Duch / Klaus Holm)
Mr K
(Clean Feed)
McPhee / Saft / Morris / Downs
(Clean Feed)
Metasediment Rock
(Clean Feed)
Price: $14.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 5609063003437

Label: Clean Feed
Catalog ID: CF 344CD
Squidco Product Code: 21198

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2015
Country: Portugal
Packaging: Cardboard Gatefold
Recorded at Boma Studio, Ghent, Belgium.


Fulco Ottervanger-piano

Simon Segers-drums

Lieven Van Pee-double bass

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Schaduwleven 4:10

2. Rebel Jazz To Rebel Against 5:51

3. Broensgebuzze 8 1:27

4. - 1:56

5. La Laisse Lointaine 6:20

6. - 0:42

7. (De Zachte Jacht Op De) Volkswolf 10:26

8. Broengebuzze 7 1:50

9. Muziek Weet Niks 9:24

10. - 1:52