The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

The trio of Chris Caldwell on reeds, Susie Hodder Williams on flute, and Trevor Taylor on percussion and electronics in a set combining free improvisation with written pieces using stochastic & graphic processes, plus a work by Stockhausen, "Aus Den Seien Tagen" and one dedicated to John Mayer.

Unlimited (Caldwell / Williams / Taylor)
The Sound Within

Unlimited (Caldwell / Williams / Taylor): The Sound Within (FMR)

Label: FMR    
Released in: Great Britain    

"The 8 pieces of music on this CD are a combination of written pieces and free improvisation. "ARP" Is a piece inspired by artist Jean Arp, who for the artwork above, threw pieces of paper into the air and let them drop randomly.

The music for "ARP" was obtained by choosing random playing cards and assigning their values into musical parameters such as pitch, duration and intensity. These were then translated into a spacetime style notational score as seen her from another score for the trio Orion, a piece with prerecorded electronics sound.

"Sunrise Raga" is dedicated to John Mayer, the Indian Jazz/classical violinist and composer who led Indo Jazz Fusions from the 60s till 2000. This was one of and still is the most successful of its type blending the music of India with Western Jazz.

"Unlimited" (from which this group takes its name) is a piece by Karlheinz Stockhausen from Aus Den Seien Tagen (from the seven days) 1968 and is intuitive music, in text form. Unlimited Play a sound with the certainty you have an infinite amount of time and space."-FMR

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Free Improvisation
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
Electro-Acoustic Improv
Trio Recordings
New in Improvised Music
Recent Releases and Best Sellers
FMR Records

Search for other titles on the FMR label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Schindler, Udo / Marco von Orelli
Circuit (Dunmall / Taylor / Gibbs)
Electro Acoustic Ensemble
Watson, Ian / Susie Hodder-Williams
The Tao Of Homeopathy
Dunmall, Paul / Philip Gibbs / Trevor Taylor
New Atmospheres
Circuit: Taylor / Seagroat / Chatgigiannis
Airkraft (Caldwell / Whyman / Van Der Kooij)
Pyongyang Express
Goss, Stephen
Northern Lights
Various Artists
Sculpted Sound
Atmospheres Without Oxygen (Dunmall / Gibbs / Stevens / Taylor)
4 Live In Oxford
Delta Saxophone Quartet
Uneasy Dreams [DVD]
Hodder-Williams / Caldwell
Mariner's Way
Circuit: Electro-Acoustic Ensemble
Circuit: Electro Acoustic Ensemble
Taylor / Dunmall / Chang

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Laubrock, Ingrid / Tom Rainey
(Relative Pitch)
Miimo 5
Miimo 3
Miimo 4
Elyakim, Dganit
Failing Better
(Aural Terrains)
Astral Colonels (Anthony Pateras / Valerio Tricoli)
Good Times in the End Times
Extended Pianos (Fox / Griswold / Pateras)
Switch On A Dime
Mazur, Rafel / Keir Neuringer
Diachronic Paths
(Relative Pitch)
Battus, Pascal / Dafne Vicente-Sandoval
[2 CDs]
Price: $11.96
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 0617729603866

Label: FMR
Catalog ID: FMRCD390-115
Squidco Product Code: 21068

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2015
Country: Great Britain
Packaging: Digipack
Tracks 1, 2, 3, 7, 8 recorded at Gateway studios Kingston, UK.

Tracks 4, 5, 6 at the White House Studio.


Chris Caldwell-alto saxophone, soprano saxophone, bass clarinet

Susie Hodder Williams-flute, piccolo, alto flute

Trevor Taylor-percussion, electronics

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Look To The Blue 4:04

2. 66 N 8:04

3. Unlimited 5:24

4. Resonance 4:08

5. Breakthrough 5:03

6. Arp 1:15

7. Sunrise Raga 7:22

8. Insights 3:47