The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Odd beats, strange solos, a reggae feel here, an avant-garde jazz angularity there, from Rollerball, a goth-tinged pop band with vocalist Mae Starr leading the quintet through catchy melodies with unexpected twists and turns.

Catholic Paws/Catholic Pause

Rollerball: Catholic Paws/Catholic Pause (Silber)

Label: Silber    
Released in: USA    

"...Catholic Paws/Catholic Pause contains some of Rollerball's best-written, most memorable material. Plus, it features Mae Starr as a full-fledged singer, her deep alto voice crooning seductively. As usual with this band, the instrumentals shuffle the deck: odd beats, strange solos, a reggae feel here, an avant-garde jazz angularity there -- they act like prisms showing different facets of what has just been heard. Both songs and instrumentals are kept short and to the point: no wasted time, no extra chorus repeated for the sake of duration. Melodies are catchy enough to catch them the first time, so once they have been exposed, the band moves on to the next transitional tune, then straight into another song. The basic quintet receives help from a cast of regular friends, including singer Stefania Pedretti and drummer Bruno Dorella (of OvO), tubaist Ben Wright, and maverick sax player Jacopo Andreini. There is not a single throwaway on this album, except maybe for the "hidden"lo-fi jam, which will definitely not be to everyone's liking. But who cares, as long as there are songs like "Erzulie," "Tipping the Tree," and "Sores"? Recommended."-Francois Couture

Related Categories of Interest:

Rock and Related
Song Based Music

Search for other titles on the Silber label.

Other Recommended Releases:
No Memories, Only Photographs
Invisible Things
Time AS One Axis [VINYL]
(New Atlantis)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
PYN (Yoshida / Pittard / Nasuno)
Songs for children who don't want to sleep
Fall Line
Simmons, Sonny
Leaving Knowledge, Wisdom and Brilliance / Chasing The Bird? [8 CD BOX]
(Improvising Beings)
Sharrock, Linda
No Is No (Don't Fuck Around With Your Women)
(Improvising Beings)
Johnson, Lucien / Alan Silva / Makoto Sato
Stinging Netttles
(Improvising Beings)
Oki, Itapu / Axel Dorner
Root Of Bohemian
(Improvising Beings)
Janas, Gene / Vinnie Paternostro / Jay Reeve / Other Matter
United Slaves #2~3
(Improvising Beings)
Wilson, Tony 6tet
A Day's Life
(Drip Audio)
(Drip Audio)
The Turbine! (Bankhead / Duboc / Drake / Lopez + guests)
Entropy/Enthalpy [2 CDs]
Levin, Daniel Quartet
(Clean Feed)
Roebke, Jason
Every Sunday
(Clean Feed)
Loriot, Frantz / Manuel Perovic Notebook Large Ensemble
Urban Furrow
(Clean Feed)
Fraser, Nick (feat. Tony Malaby and Kris Davis)
Too Many Continents
(Clean Feed)
Parker, Evan / Joe Morris / Nate Wooley
Ninth Square
(Clean Feed)
Nabatov, Simon / Mark Dresser
(Clean Feed)
Prehn, Tom Quartet
(Corbett vs. Dempsey)
Bettis, Chuck
Pixel Bleed
(Living Myth)
Kretzmer, Yoni / Andrew Drury
(OutNow Recordings)
Hanut Trio (Bukelman / Masel / Sabag)
Hanut Trio
(OutNow Recordings)
Kretzmer, Yoni 2Bass Quartet
Book II [2 CDs]
(OutNow Recordings)
Bukelman, Ido / Nadav Masel
Ground Birds
(OutNow Recordings)
Levin, Daniel / Juan Pablo Carletti
Illusion of Truth
(OutNow Recordings)
Eubanks, Bryan & Stephane Rives
Price: $10.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 678277098824

Label: Silber
Catalog ID: silber037
Squidco Product Code: 20915

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2005
Country: USA
Packaging: Cardboard sleeve
Recorded at Middmakr and Surfactant Bleed, except Track 8 recorded at Johnson Creek Magic Theatre by Steve Gilliam, Gilles and Mini Wagonwheel.


Molly Griffith-cello

Jamie Smith-clarinet

Bruno Dorella-drums

Dylan Hinkley-trombone

Shane de Leon-trumpet, vocals, keyboards

Ben Wright-tuba

Stefania Pedretti-vocals

The Jed-vocals [Universal And Triumphant]

Jacopo Andreini-vocals, percussion, alto saxophone

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Quench 3:05

2. Erzulie 4:01

3. Fucker 1:42

4. Tipping The Tree 3:57

5. So This Is That? 2:51

6. Sores 2:12

7. Break In Your Neck 3:36

8. End Of Young Birds 2:42

9. Mantis Segue 1:55

10. Tambien 2:52

11. Jack To Jac 4:16

12. Quad Four 2:15

13. Coburn 3:17

14. Ederlezi 3:05

15. Maime 16:10