The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

A hybrid of theater, music, sound poetry and political manifesto from Sylvaine Helary, focused on the "Arab Spring" in Egypt, using intertwining words and voices around the quartet performances of Hugues Mayot, Sylvain Lemetre, Antonin Rayon and Sylvaine Helary.

Helary, Sylvaine
Spring Roll / Printemps [2 CDs]

Helary, Sylvaine : Spring Roll / Printemps [2 CDs] (Ayler)

Label: Ayler    
Released in: France    

"First created in 2011 at l'Atelier du Plateau in Paris, the concert/performance "Printemps" offered audiences a hybrid between theater, music, sound poetry and political manifesto - for it was focused on the "Arab Spring" in Egypt, among other things - where the intertwined words and voices of Julien Boudart, Xavier Papais and Egyptian blogger Aalam Wassef created a reflection on the magic of (new) beginnings.

At the heart of this "soundtrack", recreated here in the studio (disc 1), we can hear the quartet composed of Hugues Mayot (saxophones) Sylvain Lemetre (percussion), Antonin Rayon (piano, keyboards) and Sylvaine Helary (flutes, composition). In "Spring Roll" (disc 2), entirely instrumental and somehow a musical mirror and an extension (through a brand new repertoire) to "Printemps", the quartet delivers a highly sensory music, multiplying articulation strategies between composition and improvisation, and shifting from large areas of pulsed minimalist grooves to tightly written sequences. In both cases, a wandering and bright hymn to freedom, as much of invention and creativity as of speech."-Ayler

See all items in the Ayler Records category

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
Large Ensembles
Quartet Recordings
Ayler Records
Spoken Word
Ayler Records
New in Improvised Music
Recent Releases and Best Sellers
Staff Picks & Recommended Items

Search for other titles on the Ayler label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Risser, Eve / White Desert Orchestra
Les Deux Versants Se Regardent
(Clean Feed)
Blanc, Michel
Le Miroir des Ondes
Murcia, Sarah
Never Mind The Future
Ceccaldi, Theo Trio, Trio + Joelle Leandre
Carrousel -and- Can You Smile
Daniel, Sylvain / Gregoire Galichet / Matthieu Metzger
Killing Spree
Grimal, Alexandra / Giovanni Di Domenico
Chergui [2 CDs]
Ducret, Marc
Tower-Bridge [2 CDs]
Ceccaldi / Negro / Ceccaldi / Chennebault
La Scala
Leandre, Joelle / Pascal Contet
Ceccaldi, Theo Trio + Joelle Leandre
Can You Smile?
Fields, Scott & Jeffrey Lependorf
Everything is in the instructions
Lopes, Luis Humanization 4tet
Live in Madison
Gonzalez, Dennis Yells at Eels
Colorado at Clinton
Ducret, Marc
Tower, Vol. 3
Metzger, Matthieu
Cotinaud, Francois Klangfarben Ensemble
Monologue de Schoenberg [CD + DVD]
Sleeping in Vilna (Ladd / Robinson / Randall / Rothbrust)
Why Waste Time
Blanc, Michel
Les Onze Tableaux De L'escouade
(D'Autres Cordes)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Spanish Fighters
Catchpole / Edwards / Prevost
Beyond the Barrier
Guy, Barry / Eddie Prevost / Evan Parker / Keith Rowe
PYN (Yoshida / Pittard / Nasuno)
Songs for children who don't want to sleep
Fall Line
Simmons, Sonny
Leaving Knowledge, Wisdom and Brilliance / Chasing The Bird? [8 CD BOX]
(Improvising Beings)
Sharrock, Linda
No Is No (Don't Fuck Around With Your Women)
(Improvising Beings)
Johnson, Lucien / Alan Silva / Makoto Sato
Stinging Netttles
(Improvising Beings)
Price: $19.96
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 4.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 7320470171486

Label: Ayler
Catalog ID: aylCD-144-145
Squidco Product Code: 20868

Format: 2 CDs
Condition: New
Released: 2015
Country: France
Packaging: Cardboard Gatefold 4 Panels
Recorded September 2014.


Sylvaine Helary-flutes, voice

Antonin Rayon-piano, synthesizer

Hugues Mayot-saxophones, clarinets

Sylvain Lemetre-vibraphone, percussion

Julien Boudart-synthesizer

Aalem Wasaaf-voice

Xavier Papais-voice

Yumiko Nakamura-voice

Jean Chaise-voice

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

CD 1

1. Appel Au Caire 1:28

2. Pas De Crepuscule 6:30

3. Ronde 0:55

4. Les Lieux Communs I 1:45

5. Les Lieux Communs II 1:28

6. La Production Du Milieu 2:54

7. Ronde 1 Ronde 2 2:50

8. Le Desert Blanc Sale Dure Assez 7:07

9. Grand Ecart 2:45

10. Les Lieux Communs III 1:28

11. Dans Le Taxi 9:17

12. Les Danse De L'Horloge 6:40

13. La Revolte Des Puritains D'Ecosse 4:48

14. Ronde Michelson 0:24

15. Quverture 1:31

CD 2

1. Ailes 7:29

2. Deux 4:07

3. Trop Pres 7:03

4. Bruissements Du Monde 3:26

5. Ile 3:08

6. L'Esquive 6:08

7. Leger Errement 4:24