The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Piero Bittolo Bon's Lacus Amoenus featuring the leader on reeds & electronics, Simone Massaron on guitars, Glauco Benedetti on tuba, and Tommaso Cappellato on drums, is joined by trumpeter Peter Evans for an album of transatlantic improvisation of great dexterity and humor.

PBB'S Lacus Amoenus with Peter Evans
The Sauna Session

PBB'S Lacus Amoenus with Peter Evans: The Sauna Session (Long Song Records)

Label: Long Song Records    
Released in: Italy    

"A sweaty summer session or radical free music! Recorded in July 2012 close to a nice small lake in the North of Italy, at the beautiful Sauna Studio (yes, even the studio name is as hot as the music!). Featuring Peter Evans as special guest, and an unusual tuba instead or a more expected double bass, Piero Bittolo Bon's Lacus Amoenus delivers a brilliant, adventurous ensemble sound, full of raw, daring improvised music. Certainly not your usual easy listening jazz music, "The Sauna Session" is in any case a treasure to slowly discover and appreciate listen after listen!"-Long Song Records

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Free Improvisation
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Quintet Recordings
Peter Evans

Search for other titles on the Long Song Records label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Evans, Peter
Lifeblood [USB Drive]
(More Is More)
Fewell, Garrison / Gianni Mimmo
Flawless Dust
(Long Song Records)
Parrini, Emanuele
The Blessed Prince
(Long Song Records)
No Pair (Chiapperini / Elia / Trapani / Fusco)
Chaos and Order
(Long Song Records)
Acid Cock
(Long Song Records)
Rocket Science
Evan Parker / Peter Evans / Craig Taborn / Sam Pluta
(More Is More)
Trumpets and Drums (Wooley / Evans / Black / Lytton)
Live in Ljubljana
(Clean Feed)
Cymerman / Wooley / Evans / Bauder
Sky Burial
(5049 Records)
Massaron, Simone feat. Carla Bozulich
Dandelions on Fire
(Long Song Records)
Bon, Piero Bittolo & His Original Pigneto Stompers
Mucho Acustica
(Long Song Records)
Maier, Giovanni Technicolor
Featuring Marc Ribot + A Turtle Soup [2 CDs]
(Long Song Records)
Walter / Halvorson / Evans
Electric Fruit
(Thirsty Ear)
Evans, Peter Quartet
Live in Lisbon
(Clean Feed)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
PYN (Yoshida / Pittard / Nasuno)
Songs for children who don't want to sleep
Fall Line
Simmons, Sonny
Leaving Knowledge, Wisdom and Brilliance / Chasing The Bird? [8 CD BOX]
(Improvising Beings)
Sharrock, Linda
No Is No (Don't Fuck Around With Your Women)
(Improvising Beings)
Johnson, Lucien / Alan Silva / Makoto Sato
Stinging Netttles
(Improvising Beings)
Oki, Itapu / Axel Dorner
Root Of Bohemian
(Improvising Beings)
Janas, Gene / Vinnie Paternostro / Jay Reeve / Other Matter
United Slaves #2~3
(Improvising Beings)
Wilson, Tony 6tet
A Day's Life
(Drip Audio)
(Drip Audio)
The Turbine! (Bankhead / Duboc / Drake / Lopez + guests)
Entropy/Enthalpy [2 CDs]
Levin, Daniel Quartet
(Clean Feed)
Roebke, Jason
Every Sunday
(Clean Feed)
Loriot, Frantz / Manuel Perovic Notebook Large Ensemble
Urban Furrow
(Clean Feed)
Price: $14.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 8032089000291

Label: Long Song Records
Catalog ID: LSRCD132/2014
Squidco Product Code: 19109

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2014
Country: Italy
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded at La Sauna studio in Varese, Copenhagen, Denmark, in July 2012, by Andrea Caielli.


Piero Bittolo Bon-alto sax, contrabass, pocket reed trumpet, no-input electronics

Peter Evans-trumpet, piccolo trumpet

Simone Massaron-electric guitar, acoustic guitar, fretless guitar, lapsteel guitar, effects

Glauco Bendetti-tuba

Tommaso Cappellato-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Glauco Benedetti's Sound Of Love 2:39

2. Matador? Matador?? 10:57

3. Please Flora Don't Look At Me Like That 4:00

4. How To Kill Peter Evans With A Rotating Tube 8:54

5. Ballad Of The Martian Rovers 2:28

6. The Mighty Cavata Bros 19:49

7. Saxophone Shaped J 3:30

8. A Fanfare 1:00

9. Turtles All The Way Down 4:39

10. Twntytw 14:13

11. And Now The Quite 2:43