The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Lisbon saxophonist Rodrigo Amado's trio with Miquel Mira on cello and Gabriel Ferrandini on drums is joined by New York trumpeter Peter Evans for 3 dynamic and exciting studio recording of superb TransAtlantic free improvisation.

Amado, Rodrigo Motion Trio & Peter Evans
The Freedom Principle

Amado, Rodrigo Motion Trio & Peter Evans: The Freedom Principle (NoBusiness)

Label: NoBusiness    
Released in: Lithuania    

The Freedom Principle is an album crackling with energy. Consisting of three long tracks, none shorter than 11 minutes, the album is full of bristling creativity and expression, never feeling tired or lost.

Rodrigo Amado is a musician and photographer from Lisbon, Portugal (check out his artist home page; in addition to his discography, he had a link to his pictures and a photo book, all very nice), who was involved in the burgeoning free jazz scene there in the mid to late 90's. The start of Clean Feed enabled many of the artists, including Amado, to record their music and get international exposure. He had the first release from that label, The Implicate Order at Seixal. Amado sees himself as carrying the tradition of saxophone players like Coleman Hawkins, Sonny Rollins, Archie Shepp, and Sam Rivers, taking his knowledge of jazz and his own creativity, and channeling it with energy and focus.

On The Freedom Principle album from NoBusiness, his working trio with cellist Miguel Mira and drummer Gabriel Ferrandini is joined by trumpeter Peter Evans (from New York and member of the International Contemporary Ensemble - ICE). The title track is a 25+ minute opus that grabs the listener right from the start; Amado playing like Sonny Rollins in free form, with Ferrandi complementing, and then the others join in. Evans pushes Amado with an insistent tone that punctuates, sometimes lurking in the background, other times adjacent to the sax playing. About halfway through both horn players engage in an active dialogue that recalls that late 60's New Wave in Jazz scene, playing on top of each other, then along side, folding and turning their music in rhythms and tones that maintain the listener's interest.

There's a lot to digest, and on repeated listens it gets more rewarding. Shadows is an 18+ minute experience in volume, going from the terrific playing of Mira and Evans, playing at an almost whisper, the cello squeaking and trumpet mouthpiece blowing, to a more aggressive and louder interaction when Amado and Ferrandini join in, cello and sax vibrating, becoming very intense, then back down low, then loud again, Evans in full voice, stretching and pushing his instrument to the limit. Pepper Packed (a tribute to Art Pepper?) has Evans leading off with a solo, then Ferrandini, then a duet with Ferrandini and Mira, with Amado finally joining in with a more relaxed sound, almost ballad like, but the rhythm section plays against that notion. On this final track one can hear Amado's influences, and the very clever way he integrates them into his own sound.

The Freedom Principle is a high point for everyone involved, and a reaffirmation that the traditions of jazz are not dead, but cleverly integrated into new sounds and stories, by artists like Rodrigo Amado and his group and Peter Evans. This gets my highest recommendation!"-Stefan Wood, Free Jazz Blog

Read more about this item
The Squid
At The Squid's Ear!

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Quartet Recordings
Peter Evans

Get additional information at Free Jazz Blog

Search for other titles on the NoBusiness label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Dikeman, John / Luis Vicente / Hugo Antunes / Gabriel Ferrandini
Salao Brasil [VINYL]
Cirera, Albert / Hernani Faustino / Gabriel Ferrandini / Agusti Fernandez
Before the Silence
Evans, Peter
Lifeblood [USB Drive]
(More Is More)
Free Jazz Group Wiesbaden
Frictions / Frictions Now
RED trio & Mattias Stahl
North And Red Stream
PBB'S Lacus Amoenus with Peter Evans
The Sauna Session
(Long Song Records)
Moore, Thurston / Pedro Sousa / Gabriel Ferrandini
Live at ZDB [VINYL]
Amado, Rodrigo / Mota / Faustino / Ferrandini
Wire Quartet
(Clean Feed)
Amado, Rodrigo Motion Trio & Peter Evans
Live in Lisbon [VINYL]
Lopes, Luis Humanization 4tet
Live in Madison
Amado, Rodrigo's Motion Trio, & Jeb Bishop
Burning Live at Jazz Ao Centro
(Jacc Records)
Lopes, Luis Humanization 4tet
Parker / Guy / Lytton + Peter Evans
Scenes in the House of Music
(Clean Feed)
Evans, Peter Quartet
Live in Lisbon
(Clean Feed)
Gonzalez, Dennis Yells At Eels featuring Rodrigo Amado
The Great Bydgoszcz Concert
Lopes, Luis
Humanization 4tet
(Clean Feed)
Amado / Zingaro / Ulrich / Filiano
Surface: for Alto, Baritone, and Strings
(European Echoes)
Amado / Kessler / Nilssen-Love
(European Echoes)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Halvorson, Mary / Sylvie Courvoisier
Crop Circles
(Relative Pitch)
Escreet, John (w/ Evan Parker / John Hebert / Tyshawn Sorey)
The Unknown (Live in Concert)
(Sunnyside Records)
Altschul, Barry 3dom Factor
Tales Of The Unforseen
Duboc, Benjamin
St. James Infirmary
(Improvising Beings)
Davis, Kris Infrasound (Davis / Goldberg / Noriega / Badenhorst / Bishop / Radley / Versace / Black)
Save Your Breath
(Clean Feed)
Battus, Pascal / Lionel Marchetti / Emmanuel Petit
La Vie Dans Les Bois
(Herbal International)
Risser, Eve
Des pas sur la neige
(Clean Feed)
Nagai, Shoko (w/ Reynolds / Goldberger / Takeishi / Black)
Taken Shadow
Price: $15.95
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 4.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 4779022075117

Label: NoBusiness
Catalog ID: NBCD 67
Squidco Product Code: 18847

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2014
Country: Lithuania
Packaging: Jewel Case
Recorded at Namouche Studios, in Lisbon, Portugal, on March 18th, 2013, by Joaquim Monte.


Rodrigo Amado-tenor saxophone

Peter Evans-trumpet

Miquel Mira-cello

Gabriel Ferrandini-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. The Freedom Principle 26:47

2. Shadows 18:40

3. Pepper Packed 11:54