The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Rosco Blur's groove-based jazz album with a great set of players including Paul Plimey (piano), Dylan van der Schyff (drums), spirited music with the occasional sung-spoken lyric, an album that harkens to the world of Roland Kirk with a modern edge.

Blur, Rosco
Stable Chaos

Blur, Rosco: Stable Chaos (Red Toucan)
Label: Red Toucan    
Released in: Canada    

"An album with a pervasive groove, adding spoken words to improvised jazz; it features Paul Plimley showing his great versatility on piano, + west-coast percussionist Dylan van der Schyff. This is a dynamic mixture with catchy melodies, exotic ambiences, kind of lounge music with attitude. Rosco's performance on sax can be passionate and reveal a gritty sound when the music is energetic, or soothing when it turns moody; it also leaves space for creative involvement from his friends. A promising first album."-Indie Jazz

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Free Improvisation
Vancouver and Western Canada

Septet recordings

Search for other titles on the Red Toucan label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Film In Music
Tell Tale
(Drip Audio)
Davis, Anthony / Paul Plimley / Al Neil / John Kameel Farah
Past Piano Present | Live at Western Front 1985 - 2015 [VINYL LP with DOWNLOAD]
(Western Front New Music)
Rose, Simon / Stefan Schultze
The Ten Thousand Things
(Red Toucan)
Spearman's G-Force, Glenn
Let It Go
(Red Toucan)
Houle, Francois Trio
(Red Toucan)
Reason, Dana / Peter Valsamis
Border Crossings
(Red Toucan)
Various Artists
Amalgam(e): 10 Years of Red Toucan [2 CDs]
(Red Toucan)
Way Out Northwest
The White Spot - w/John Butcher, Tortsen Mueller and Dylan van der Shyff
(Relative Pitch)
NOW Orchestra, The (with guests George Lewis, Vinny Golia)
Tarry, Chris / Dylan van der Schyff
Leandre / Mitchell / Van Der Schyff
Before After
Houle, Viviane
(Drip Audio)
McPhee, Joe / Lisle, Ellis / Plimley, Paul
Sweet Freedom - Now What?
O'Leary / Kang / Van Der Schyff
Unexpected, The: Falaise / Samworth / Tanguay / Van der Schyff
The Unexpected One
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Plimley, Paul / John Oswald / Marilyn Crispell / Cecil Taylor

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
SFQ (Simon Fell Quartet)
Four Compositions [2 CDs]
(Red Toucan)
Stellar Power
Price: $11.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 4.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 777885931025

Label: Red Toucan
Catalog ID: RT 9310-2
Squidco Product Code: 18048

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 1996
Country: Canada
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded by Jeff Bond at Crosstown Studios and Q.E.D. studios.


Rosco Blur-tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, vocals, keyboards

Paul Plimley-piano

Dylan van der Schyff-drums

Danny Parker-stand-up bass

Payman Vessal-violin

Glenna Powrie-keyboards

Don Garbutt-sampler keyboard

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. New World Order 4:04

2. Booze Up and Riot 3:23

3. Stable Chaos 6:43

4. The Jazz Mind 4:38

5. Nowhere Fast 7:50

6. Blood of the Mind 4:17

7. Second Opinion 7:19

8. Daddy Booze 7:54

9. Lac Du Lynn 4:12