The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

The debut album from the trio of Dave Rempis (sax), Jason Adasiewicz (vibraphone) and Nate McBride (bass) is a rich melodic and harmonic release with tracks that vary from sparse to zestful.

Boss Of The Plains

Wheelhouse: Boss Of The Plains (Aerophonic)
Label: Aerophonic    
Released in: USA    

"In contrast, Wheelhouse's debut CD, Boss of the Plains, shows a more introspective side of Rempis' playing. This drummer-less trio with vibraphonist Jason Adasiewicz and bassist Nate McBride first formed in 2005, and this recording represents their slow-cooked, and long-overdue, recorded debut. The trio's well-considered development over many years has allowed for an almost telepathic empathy between these players. All notable soloists and leaders on their own, in this context they pursue a more group-oriented sound where a leader emerges and retracts in unpredictable ways. Additionally, the lack of a drummer provides more sonic space and exposes many of the melodic and harmonic interactions that arise in the group, providing a setting that can move from passages that are remarkably austere, to ones that are highly energetic and dense."-Aerophonic

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Chicago Jazz & Improvisation
Trio Recordings

Search for other titles on the Aerophonic label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Gunwale: Rempis / Wildeman / Packard
Adasiewicz's, Jason Sun Rooms
From The Region
Rempis, Dave / Darren Johnston / Larry Ochs
Rempis / Marhaug Duo
Naancore [VINYL]
Karayorgis, Pandelis Quintet
(Driff Records)
Rosaly, Frank
Cicada Music
Whammies, The (Djikstra / Karayorgis / Bishop / Oliver / McBride / Bennink)
Play The Music of Steve Lacy
(Driff Records)
Ballister (Dave Rempis, Fred Lonberg-Holm and Paal Nilssen-Love)
(Clean Feed)
Adasiewicz, Jason
Arrive: Shelton / Adasiewicz / Roebke / Daisy
There Was
(Clean Feed)
Adasiewicz, Jason
Sun Rooms
Rempis / Rosaly
(482 Music)
Frame Quartet (Vandermark / Daisy / Lonberg-Holm / McBride)
Adasiewicz, Jason
(482 Music)
Karayorgis / McBride / Newton

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
TiPPLE (Gjerstad / Norton / Watson)
No Sugar on Anything
Paul, Leah
Udu Calls Trio feat. William Parker
The Vancouver Tapes
(Long Song Records)
WHO Trio (Hemingway / Wintsch / Oester)
Zoo [2 CDS]
Ducret, Marc
Tower-Bridge [2 CDs]
Gato Libre
Gauci, Stephen / Kirk Knuffke / Ken Filiano
Chasing Tales
(Relative Pitch)
Roberts, Matana / Sam Shalabi / Nicolas Caloia
(Tour de Bras)
Gray / Hobbs / Hostetter / Braman
Lawnmower II
(Clean Feed)
Amado, Rodrigo / Mota / Faustino / Ferrandini
Wire Quartet
(Clean Feed)
Donarier's, Matthieu / Albert van Veenendaal's Planetarium
The Visible Ones
(Clean Feed)
Price: $10.80
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 4144413152

Label: Aerophonic
Catalog ID: AR-002
Squidco Product Code: 17770

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2013
Country: USA
Packaging: Cardstock gatefold foldover
Recorded on October 9th, 2010 in Chicago at Izzy's Palace.


Dave Rempis-alto saxophone, baritone saxophone

Jason Adasiewicz-vibraphone

Nate McBride-bass

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Song Sex Part 1 4:13

2. Song Hate 5:08

3. Song For 2:51

4. Song Juan 6:07

5. Song For Teens 11:13

6. Song Heaven 6:04

7. Song Fife 2:26

8. Song A-Team 2:56

9. Song Sex Part 2 9:40

10. Song Tree 2:40