The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

The second album of the trio founded by drummer and composer Harris Eisenstadt with Ellery Eskelin (tenor saxophone) and Angelica Sanchez (piano) performing a set of Eisenstadt compositions referencing Joseph Conrad, Schoenberg, &c.

Eisenstadt, Harris September Trio
The Destructive Element

Eisenstadt, Harris September Trio: The Destructive Element (Clean Feed)
Label: Clean Feed    
Released in: Portugal    

"Here is one more fundamental opus of the present day jazz creativity recorded in Portugal, the little, sunny country serving as the door to enter Europe and to get out in the direction of the New World. The second album of the trio founded by drummer and composer Harris Eisenstadt with Ellery Eskelin (tenor saxophone) and Angelica Sanchez (piano) is a climb of several steps towards brilliancy. And part of the reason resides in the fact that Eisenstadt enables his phantoms (his personal references) to float, like writer Joseph Conrad in the title-track, "The Destructive Element", composer Arnold Schoenberg in the two parts of "From Schoenberg", and film director Akira Kurosawa in "Here Are the Samurai". If the debut CD of the September Trio was about ballads, this one has as main theme the simple / complex paradox. This having nothing to do with the stereotyped oppositions between composition and improvisation, or between massive intensity and small group dynamics: simplicity and complexity are where you less expect it, and sometimes you take one for another. Fabulous, in one word."-Clean Feed Records

See all items in the Clean Feed category

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Clean Feed
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Trio Recordings
Trio Recordings

Search for other titles on the Clean Feed label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Eskelin, Ellery Trio (w/ Gary Versace / Gerry Hemingway)
Willisau Live
Eisenstadt, Harris
Old Growth Forest
(Clean Feed)
No Project Trio
Vol. II
Eisenstadt, Harris
September, Canada Day IV
Convergence Quartet (Taylor Ho Bynum / Alexander Hawkins / Dominic Lash / Harris Eisenstadt)
Owl Jacket [VINYL]
Eskelin, Ellery
Solo Live At Snugs
Sanchez, Angelica / Wadada Leo Smith
Twine Forest
(Clean Feed)
Eisenstadt, Haris
Canada Day Octet
(482 Music)
Eisenstadt, Harris
September Trio
(Clean Feed)
Eisenstadt, Harris
Canada Day
(Clean Feed)
Eisenstadt, Harris
The Soul and Gone
(482 Music)
Kaufmann / Dresser / Eisenstadt
Eisenstadt, Harris
(Clean Feed)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Cortex (Johansson / Alberts / Hoyer / Nilssen)
Live in New York [VINYL]
(Clean Feed)
Sharp, Elliott Aggregat (Bynum / Greene II / Jones / Altschul)
(Clean Feed)
Lindberg, John BC3 (Lindberg / Harrison / Norton)
Born In An Urban Ruin
(Clean Feed)
Lindberg, John Raptor Trio (Lindberg / Calogero / LaBarbera)
Western Edges
(Clean Feed)
Hearts & Minds (Stein / Giallorenzo / Rosaly)
Hearts & Minds [VINYL]
(Astral Spirits)
Fujii, Satoko / Joe Fonda
(Long Song Records)
Steve Swell Quintet (Swell / Moondoc / Burrell / W. Parker / Cleaver)
Soul Travelers [VINYL + DOWNLOAD]
Levin, Daniel Quartet
(Clean Feed)
Roots Magic (Popolla / Defabriths / Tedeschi / Spera / Ventiucci)
Hoodoo Blues
(Clean Feed)
Fraser, Nick (feat. Tony Malaby and Kris Davis)
Too Many Continents
(Clean Feed)
Parker, Evan / Joe Morris / Nate Wooley
Ninth Square
(Clean Feed)
Pavone, Mario
Blue Dialect
(Clean Feed)
Wooley, Nate / Ken Vandermark
East By Northwest
(Pleasure of the Text Records)
Price: $14.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 5609063002768

Label: Clean Feed
Catalog ID: CF 276
Squidco Product Code: 17678

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2013
Country: Portugal
Packaging: Cardstock gatefold foldover
Recorded on September 29th and 30th, 2012 at Grande Auditorio, Portalegre, Portugal by Joao P. Miranda.


Harris Eisenstadt-drums, composition

Ellery Eskelin-tenor saxophone

Angelica Sanchez-piano

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Swimming, then Rained Out 4:23

2. Additives 6:20

3. From Schoenberg, Part One 7:41

4. Back and Forth 7:01

5. Ordinary Weirdness 6:20

6. The Destructive Element 2:36

7. Cascadia 6:48

8. From Schoenberg, Part Two 4:24

9. Here Are the Samurai 4:02