The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Brooklyn based bassist Stephan Crump (Rosetta Trio) and guitarist Mary Halvorson (MAP, Braxton, &c) perform duos recorded at Butler Plaza in Brooklyn, 2011, thoroughly modern improvisation from two of NY's finest young players.

Crump, Stephan - Mary Halvorson (Secret Keeper)
Super Eight

Crump, Stephan - Mary Halvorson (Secret Keeper): Super Eight (Intakt)
Label: Intakt    
Released in: Switzerland    

"Two of the most innovative personalities of the New York jazz scene in Brooklyn, Stephan Crump and Mary Halvorson, present a very special, intimate and atmospheric recording called Super Eight under the band name of "Secret Keeper".

Stephan Crump surprised a few years ago with a duo recording on Intakt on which he collaborated with saxophonist Steve Lehman. He made him­self a name with his Rosetta Trio and as the bass player of the Vijay Iyer Trio. Mary Halvorson is one of the busiest musicians around. She plays with Anthony Braxton, Ingrid Laubrock and Marc Ribot to name just a few.

Jim Macnie writes in the linernotes: " Each is fluent in the grammar of modern improv and adept at concocting music from feel. The fact that they're a duo not only italicizes the particulars of their interaction, but spotlights the personality of their instruments. Super Eight finds both guitar and bass resonating. Surrounded by only themselves, they've made an album of unusual candor." "-Intakt

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Guitarists, &c.
Duo Recordings

Search for other titles on the Intakt label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Cady, Jason
Happiness Is The Problem
(Lock Step Records)
Ziegele, Omri - Yves Theiler
Inside Innocence
Halvorson, Mary / Kirk Knuffke / Matt Wilson
(Relative Pitch)
Smith, Ches and These Arches (Smith / Berne / Malaby / Halvorson / Parkins)
(Clean Feed)
Halvorson / Evans / Walter
Mechanical Malfunction
(Thirsty Ear)
AYCH (Jim Hobbs, Mary Halvorson, Taylor Ho Bynum)
As The Crow Flies
(Relative Pitch)
Halvorson, Mary and Jessica Pavone
Departure of Reason
(Thirsty Ear)
Walter / Halvorson / Evans
Electric Fruit
(Thirsty Ear)
Crump, Stephan / James Carney
Echo Run Pry
(Clean Feed)
Halvorson / Radding / Wooley
Ellman, Liberty
Ophiuchus Butterfly
(Pi Recordings)
Ellman, Liberty
(Pi Recordings)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
No Project Trio
Vol. II
De Beren Gieren
One Mirrors Many
(Clean Feed)
Eriksen, Espen Trio
Never Ending January
(Rune Grammofon)
Kowalkowski, Jeff Trio (w/ Harrison Bankhed / Avreaayl Ra)
(New Atlantis)
Various Artists
I Never Meta Guitar Three
(Clean Feed)
Ablinger, Peter
(Hat [now] ART)
Rocket Science
Evan Parker / Peter Evans / Craig Taborn / Sam Pluta
(More Is More)
Made to Break
Lacerba [VINYL]
(Clean Feed)
Trumpets and Drums (Wooley / Evans / Black / Lytton)
Live in Ljubljana
(Clean Feed)
Dresser, Mark Quintet
(Clean Feed)
McPhee, Joe
Sonic Elements
(Clean Feed)
Slobber Pup
Black Aces
(Rarenoise Records)
Spontaneous Music Ensemble
New Surfacing (1978/92)
Thieke / Gregorio / Baker / Zerang
Sack of Rice
Price: $14.50
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 7640120192167

Label: Intakt
Catalog ID: INT216
Squidco Product Code: 17562

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2013
Country: Switzerland
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded on July 23rd, 2011 and November 10th & 17th, 2011 at the Butler Plaza, Brooklyn by Stephan Crump.


Stephan Crump-acoustic bass

Mary Halvorson-guitar

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Moom Song 4:46

2. Aquarub 0:54

3. Ciclical 0:32

4. Winds Me To Pieces 0:59

5. Synchronicity Wanders 0:41

6. Planets 2:24

7. Re: Morse 1:10

8. Anti-Time 3:37

9. Sands Cream 2:18

10. Escapade 3:49

11. Burning This 0:51

12. Night Light 6:09

13. Toothsea 9:37

14. Secret Keeper 4:54