The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Limited edition LP of Brooklyn-based guitarist/composer Mary Halvorson's second recording with her amazing working quintet of trumpeter Jonathan Finlayson, saxophonist Jon Irabagon, bassist John Hebert, and drummer Ches Smith.

Halvorson, Mary
Bending Bridges [2 VINYL LPs]

Halvorson, Mary: Bending Bridges [2 VINYL LPs] (Firehouse 12 Records)
Label: Firehouse 12 Records    
Released in: USA    

"Firehouse 12 Records is pleased to announce the release of a special limited edition vinyl version of Bending Bridges, the critically acclaimed album from the Mary Halvorson Quintet. The deluxe 2-LP set will be released on March 26th and is now available for pre-order. It features exquisite audiophile sound and new liner notes by Clifford Allen, and marks the first vinyl release for both Mary Halvorson's flagship ensemble and the Firehouse 12 Records label.

Released as a CD and digital download in 2012, Bending Bridges features Mary Halvorson's long-running quintet, with trumpeter Jonathan Finlayson, saxophonist Jon Irabagon, bassist John Hébert and drummer Ches Smith joining the guitarist/composer. Included on dozens of best-of-the-year lists, Bending Bridges lived up to Lloyd Sachs' JazzTimes review as "one of the year's most eagerly anticipated albums...It confirms Halvorson as an artist whose originality as a guitarist is no fiercer than her originality as a writer. Simply put, no one is making music like this."

Bending Bridges is Halvorson's third release as a leader with Firehouse 12 Records, following 2008's Dragon's Head and 2010's Saturn Sings. This body of work demonstrates why Halvorson has been described as "the most future-seeking guitarist working right now" (Lars Gotrich, NPR), "the most original jazz guitarist in a generation" (Michael J. West, Washington City Paper), and "one of today's most formidable bandleaders" (Francis Davis, Village Voice).

The 2-LP set, available in a one-time only 500 copy limited edition run, launches a new initiative from Firehouse 12 Records in response to a growing number of requests from vinyl-only collectors who are devotees of artists on the label's roster. While the label has already been celebrated for the consistent sonic excellence of its recordings, future vinyl releases will embrace classic analog audiophile techniques, cutting lacquer masters directly from 1/2" tape mixes. "-Firehouse Records

Limited edition, audiophile sound, new liner notes by Clifford Allen.

See all items in the Vinyl Recordings category

Related Categories of Interest:

Vinyl Recordings

Improvised Music
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Quintet Recordings

Search for other titles on the Firehouse 12 Records label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Royston, Rudy Trio
Rise of Orion
(Greenleaf Music)
Halvorson, Mary Octet
Away With You
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Thumbscrew (Halvorson / Formanek / Fujiwara)
Halvorson, Mary
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Halvorson, Mary / Kirk Knuffke / Matt Wilson
(Relative Pitch)
Halvorson / Evans / Walter
Mechanical Malfunction
(Thirsty Ear)
Halvorson, Mary and Jessica Pavone
Departure of Reason
(Thirsty Ear)
Walter / Halvorson / Evans
Electric Fruit
(Thirsty Ear)
Halvorson, Mary & Pavone, Jessica
Thin Air
(Thirsty Ear)
Halvorson Trio, Mary
Dragon's Head
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Halvorson / Radding / Wooley
Braxton, Anthony
Trio (Victoriaville) 2007

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
DNMF (Rutger Zuydervelt / Kokke / Rene Aquarius)
(Moving Furniture)
Ambarchi, Oren & Eli Keszler
Alps [VINYL]
(Dancing Wayang)
Brotzmann / Adasiewicz / Edwards / Noble
Mental Shake
Brotzmann, Peter / Harry Miller / Louis Moholo
Opened, But Hardly Touched [VINYL 2 LPs]
(Cien Fuegos)
Courvoisier, Sylvie - Mark Feldman Duo
Live At Theatre Vidy-Lausanne
Eisenstadt, Harris
Canada Day
(Clean Feed)
Price: $44.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 24.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

Limited edition, audiophile sound, new liner notes by Clifford Allen.

UPC: 819162011218

Label: Firehouse 12 Records
Catalog ID: FH12-04-08-016
Squidco Product Code: 17510

Format: 2 LPs
Condition: New
Released: 2012
Country: USA
Packaging: 2 LPs in a Gatefold Cardstock Foldover
All compositions by Mary Halvorson (BMI) Recorded July 30-31, 2011 at Firehouse 12 in New Haven, CT.


Mary Halvorson-guitar

Jonathan Finlayson-trumpet

Jon Irabagon-alto saxophone

John Hebert-bass

Ches Smith-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:


1. Sinks When She Rounds The Bend (No. 22) 7:48

2. Hemorrhaging Smiles (No. 25) 7:59


3. Forgotten Men In Silver (No. 24) 8:03

4. Love In Eight Colors (No. 21) 10:15


5. The Periphery Of Scandal (No. 23) 7:50

6. That Old Sound (No. 27) 4:48

7. Sea Cut Like Snow (No. 26) 6:52


8. Deformed Weight Of Hands (No. 28) 7:09

9. All The Clocks (No. 29) 7:48