The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

A Saturn release from the 1960's featuring a wide-range of pieces from studio recordings, rehearsals, and live concerts that are all heart-felt and made in the traditional Sun Ra style.

Sun Ra
Sub Underground Series Vol 1 & 2 - Cosmo Earth Fantasy

Sun Ra: Sub Underground Series Vol 1 & 2 - Cosmo Earth Fantasy (Art Yard (ReR TYARD))
Label: Art Yard (ReR TYARD)    
Released in: USA    

"A classic Saturn experimental studio/rehearsal release, starting with 8 delirious minutes of Kora and Piano frame - almost certainly the Strange Strings instruments, whatever they were... and then Ra's signature clavinet of the period and an unidentifiable double- reed instrument, probably Marshall Allen... enter the xylophone.. I sense you're getting the picture; all in all 21 great later-1960s minutes. Followed by a lyrical standard with Ra playing acoustic piano and John Gilmore saying what has to be said: a live recording, as is the next; congas, bongos, Ra on Rocksichord and singing in the Ra-African style. Some fine straight ahead jazz follows - with serious electric guitar and great tenor playing. And so it goes on, winding up with full-on Space is the Place Angel rant from Ra - not the best sound, but heartfelt. A fine, eclectic collection with enough gems."-Art Yard

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Sun Ra
Top 40 for 2013

Search for other titles on the Art Yard (ReR TYARD) label.

Other Recommended Releases:
MacLean, Steve
Ordinary Objects And Other Distractions
(Recommended Records)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Drake, Bob
Arx Pilosa
(Recommended Records)
Maps And Mazes
(Recommended Records)
Huy (Junji / Kazuhisa / Yoshida)
(Magaibutsu Limited)
Fall Line
Braxton, Anthony / Quartet
(Santa Cruz) 1993 1st Set [REPRESS]
Wintsch, Michel
Roof Fool
Von Orelli 5, Marco
Alluring Prospect
Taylor, Cecil
Garden 1st Set
Von Wyl, Luzia Ensemble
Castello, Angelica / Billy Roisz / Burkhard Stangl / Dieb13
(Mikroton Recordings)
Ducret, Marc
Tower-Bridge [2 CDs]
Gray / Hobbs / Hostetter / Braman
Lawnmower II
(Clean Feed)
Amado, Rodrigo / Mota / Faustino / Ferrandini
Wire Quartet
(Clean Feed)
Donarier's, Matthieu / Albert van Veenendaal's Planetarium
The Visible Ones
(Clean Feed)
Revis, Eric / Taylor / McHenry / Jones / Branford Marsalis
In Memory of Things Yet Seen
(Clean Feed)
Kesten, Christian & Mark Trayle / Annette Krebs
Berlin series No. 2
(Another Timbre)
Iddon, Martin
(Another Timbre)
Partial (Noe Cuellar and Joseph Clayton Mills)
(Another Timbre)
Chrysakis, Thanos / Wade Matthews / Javier Pedreira
Garnet Skein
(Aural Terrains)
Coombes, Nigel / Steve Beresford
White String's Attached (1979)
Polipnick, Luke Group (Luke / Linz / Wozniak / Pride)
(Eunoria Records)
Bailey, Derek / Trevor Watts / John Stevens
Dynamics of the Impromptu
Kullhammar / Aalberg / Zetterberg
Basement Sessions Vol. 2
(Clean Feed)
Davis, Kris Trio
Waiting For You To Grow
(Clean Feed)
Hebert, John Trio
(Clean Feed)
Price: $12.00
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 752725031127

Label: Art Yard (ReR TYARD)
Catalog ID: CD 013
Squidco Product Code: 17233

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2012
Country: USA
Packaging: Cardstock gatefold foldover
Recorded on various dates and at different locations.


Sun Ra-Hohner clavinet, piano strings, piano

Marshall Allen-oboe, flute, strings, percussion, vocals

Danny Davis-flute, strings, alto saxophone

John Gilmore-strings, percussion, vocals, tenor saxophone

Pat Patrick-strings

Ronnie Boykins-bass

Thomas Hunter-drums

Danny Ray Thompson-bongos


June Tyson-vocals

Nimrod Hunt-percussion, vocals

Al Evans-flugelhorn

Calvin Newborn-electric guitar

Akh Tal Ebah-vocals

Cheryl Banks-vocals

Judith Holton-vocals

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Cosmo - Earth Fantasy 21:03

2. Love Is For Always 6:48

3. The Song Of Drums 6:07

4. The World Of Africa 3:03

5. What´s New 6:56

6. Wanderlust 5:52

7. Jukin´ 2:27

8. Autumn In New York 7:01

9. We Roam The Cosmos 10:11