The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

In 2010 Scandinavian guitarists Raoul Bjorkenheim and Anders Nilsson performed this incredible concert at DMG in NYC, accompanied by NY drummer Gerald Cleaver, a breathtaking album of intricate improvised interplay.

Kalabalik (Raoul Bjorkenheim / Anders Nilsson / Gerald Cleaver)
Kalabalik: Live At Downtown Music Gallery January 2, 2011

Kalabalik (Raoul Bjorkenheim / Anders Nilsson / Gerald Cleaver): Kalabalik: Live At Downtown Music G (DMG ARC)
Label: DMG ARC    
Released in: USA    

"In late December of 2010, [DMG's] great friend and world-trotting guitar demon Raoul Bjorkenheim was in town for a couple of weeks. Just after Christmas, Raoul and fellow Scandinavian guitar great Anders Nilsson played a duo gig up in Harlem attended by Manny, myself and a few other informed fans. It turned out pretty well with the spirit of Jimi Hendrix - and early John McLaughlin - floating behind both guitarists.

A light went on in my head! I asked Raoul and Anders to do an in-store concert on the first Sunday of 2011 at DMG with possibly additional players. They decided to ask the great percussionist Gerald Cleaver to complete this trio. The set was well attended, turned out better than any of us could have imagined, and cemented their relationship a working trio.

Professionally recorded by Robert O'Hare, mixed by Robert Musso, and mastered by Mike King - we couldn't ask for better collaborators on the post-production end! The music is spectacular! Although it was completely improvised, it sounds as if there was some sort of script involved. Raoul, Anders and Gerald spin tales of wonder. It is an exciting, intense and demanding journey with incredible interplay, humorous detours and like the best of any progressive session, it completely works! "-DMG/Arc

Read more about this item
The Squid
At The Squid's Ear!

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Rock and Related
Improvised Rock
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Trio Recordings

Search for other titles on the DMG ARC label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Nordstrom, Fredrik
Gentle Fire, Restless Dreams [2 CDs]
(Moserobie Music)
Bjorkenheim, Raoul / eCsTaSy
Out Of The Blue
Bjorkenheim, Raoul / eCsTaSy
Bynum, Taylor Ho / John Hebert / Gerald Cleaver
Book of Three: Continuum
(Relative Pitch)
Bjorkenheim, Raoul / Bill Laswell / Morgan Agren
Leandre / Crispell / Campbell, Jr. / Maneri - The Stone Quartet
DMG @ The Stone, December 22, 2006 Volume 1
Lissack, Selwyn
Friendship Next of Kin

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Wire, The
#389 July 2016 [MAGAZINE]
(The Wire)
Baron, Marc
Un Salon Au Fond D'un Lac
Riley, Terry
The 3 Generations Trio
Laubrock, Ingrid / Tom Rainey
(Relative Pitch)
Yagi, Michiyo / Lasse Marhaug / Paal Nilssen-Love
Angular Mass
Granberg, Magnus
How Deep is the Ocean, How High is the Sky?
(Another Timbre)
Evans, Peter / Tim Dahl / Mike Pride
Pulverize The Sound
(Relative Pitch)
Pride, Mike
Listening Party
(Akord Records/Subkulturni Azil)
IKB Ensemble
Anthropometrie Sans Titre
(Creative Sources)
Moon, The
Good And Evil
Dean, Elton / Paul Dunmall / Paul Rogers / Tony Bianco
Remembrance [2 CDs]
Mitchell, Roscoe & Nicole Mitchell's Black Earth Ensemble
Three Compositions - Live At Sant'anna Arresi
Attias, Michael
Spun Tree
(Clean Feed)
Monochrome Bleu Sans Titre
(Creative Sources)
Leandre, Joelle & Serge Teyssot-Gay
Kimmel / More / Wick
Larsen, Stian / Jorn Erik Ahlsen
Trespass Trio
Bruder Beda
(Clean Feed)
Grimal, Alexandra
Price: $13.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 808713073324

Label: DMG ARC
Catalog ID: 733
Squidco Product Code: 16208

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2012
Country: USA
Packaging: Cardstock gatefold foldover
Recorded live by Robert O'Hare at Downtown Music Gallery on January 2nd, 2011.


Raoul Bjorkenheim-electric guitar

Anders Nilsson-electric guitar

Gerald Cleaver-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Spiraling Skies 13:08

2. Vortex 5:28

3. Incarnation 8:40

4. Robot Tango 13:47

5. Saga Raga 8:42

6. Descension 9:22