The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

Wild British improvisers Volcano The Bear, borrowing from a cross-section of styles including jazz, rock, ethno-folk, organized sound, with an inexplicable and insanely passionate approach to their eccentric and excellent music.

Volcano The Bear
Golden Rhythm / Ink Music [VINYL]

Volcano The Bear: Golden Rhythm / Ink Music [VINYL] (Rune Grammofon)
Label: Rune Grammofon    
Released in: Norway    

"A brand new studio album from Volcano The Bear, the band that have, in the words of The Wire magazine, "produced some of the finest, wildest British music of the last 10 years on record and on stage". Or, as Losing Today puts it, "no one sounds, has sounded, or will ever sound quite like Volcano The Bear".

A calculated hysterical melting pot of This Heat, Robert Wyatt, Faust and The Residents, of musique concrète and ethno-folk, all seen through a prism of theatrical improvisations and unhinged set pieces. VTB have released a number of records since the start in 1995, often mixing studio, live and home recordings. Golden Rhythm/Ink Music is their first studio album since Amidst The Noise And Twigs back in 2007.

Largely based on the sonic fault-line between Aaron Moore and Daniel Padden, it´s also the most focused and driven of VTB's prolific output so far, showcasing the duo's unique musicality and interplay, whilst retaining their trademark eccentricity and humour throughout. It presents "rock music" as seen through VTB's skewed eye, featuring more of Padden and Moore's drum/guitar combination than on previous albums. Taking the bizarre energy of their live duo performances into a studio environment, and combining it with VTB's eclectic instrumentation and Clarence Manuelo's singular audio-work, GR/IM shows VTB making their most vital work to date."-Rune Grammofon

See all items in the Vinyl Recordings category

Related Categories of Interest:

Vinyl Recordings
Improvised Music
Electro-Acoustic Improv
Organized Sound and Sample Based Music
Rock and Related
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Trio Recordings

Search for other titles on the Rune Grammofon label.

Price: $22.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 15.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 7033660031278

Label: Rune Grammofon
Catalog ID: RLP 3127LP
Squidco Product Code: 15986

Format: LP
Condition: New
Released: 2012
Country: Norway
Packaging: Vinyl 12" LP
Recorded at various locations and dates between 2006 and 2008.


Clarence Manuelo

Aaron Moore

Daniel Padden

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:


01. Buffalo Shoulder

02. Baby Photos

03. The Great Reimbursing

04. Bravo


05. Quiet Salad

06. Spurius Ruga

07. Golden Ink

08. Fireman Show

Other Releases
With These Artists: