The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Percussionist Trevor Taylor's Circuit mixes acoustic instruments, electronics and real-time processing to morph alien sounding landscapes through well-honed improvising, here with Paul Dunmall, Hilary Jeffires, and Roberto Filoseta.


Circuit: Genesis (FMR)
Label: FMR    
Released in: Great Britain    

"Formed by percussionist Trevor Taylor and featuring a fluid membership, Circuit mixes acoustic instruments with electronics and real-time processing to morph alien sounding landscapes from their careful, well-honed improvising. On this disc, Taylor is joined by Paul Dunmall, Hilary Jeffries and Roberto Filoseta on saxophones, trombone and piano respectively.

At times its hard to even notice the electronics, there's a lot of what sounds like straight acoustic improvising using fairly traditional technique, and following the tried and true soft and sparse to louder and more dense then back again pyramid that so much improvising tends to follow, especially during the third track (all tracks are unnamed). There's a definite consonance to the playing, which at other times resembles "chamber jazz", or maybe even the old cool school. Echoes of everything from Lennie Tristano to Cecil Taylor abound. Gradually the electronics begin seeping in, modifying source sounds and producing an otherworldly cast of digital dust and occasionally cheesy envelope following. It's akin to witnessing a story gathering distortion over time, and from many tellers."-Jeph Jerman, The Squid's Ear

Read more about this item
The Squid
At The Squid's Ear!

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Electro-Acoustic Improv
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
London & UK Free Improvisation Scene
Free Improvisation
FMR Records
Quartet Recordings

Search for other titles on the FMR label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Circuit (Dunmall / Taylor / Gibbs)
Electro Acoustic Ensemble
Unlimited (Caldwell / Williams / Taylor)
The Sound Within
Dunmall, Paul / Philip Gibbs / Trevor Taylor
New Atmospheres
Dove, David / Jawwad Taylor
These Are Eyes, See?
(El Cangrejito)
Jacobsen, Peter
For Pete's Sake Vol. 1
Larsen, Stian / Jorn Erik Ahlsen
McGovern, Neil / Paul Dunmall
Circuit: Taylor / Seagroat / Chatgigiannis
Airkraft (Caldwell / Whyman / Van Der Kooij)
Pyongyang Express
Stabbins / Riley / Wren / Sanders
St. Cyprians 2
Quijano, Antonio Quartet (feat Paul Dunmall)
Songs From Another Blue Planet
Dunmall / Davis / Kane
Realisation Trio: Dunmall / Jurd / Bashford
Salt Dolly
Dunmall / Gibbs / Rogers
Tribute to Tony Levin
Rogers / Dunmall / Bianco
Dig Deep Trio
Gluck, Bob
Something Quiet
Circuit: Electro-Acoustic Ensemble
Circuit: Electro Acoustic Ensemble
Dunmall, Paul
Deep [DVD]

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Turner, Roger & Otomo Yoshihide
The Last Train
Mitchell, Roscoe Trio
Angel City
Shipp, Matthew Trio
To Duke
Foxes Fox
Live at the Vortex
Gjerstad / Nilssen-Love
Side By Side
Rutherford, Paul & George Haslam with the Samuli Mikkonen Trio
Raahe '99
Price: $15.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 649849982667

Label: FMR
Catalog ID: FMR 200-0606
Squidco Product Code: 14852

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2006
Country: Great Britain
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded at Phoenix Studios in Pinewood, UK on July 12th, 2006 by Steve Lowe.


Paul Dunmall-saxophones, electronics

Hilary Jefferies-trombone, electronics

Roberto Filoseta-piano, electronics

Trevor Taylor-percussion, electronics

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Track 01 2:52

2. Track 02 11:23

3. Track 03 9:53

4. Track 04 3:25

5. Track 05 29:09

6. Track 06 4:57