The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

The UK electroacoustic improvising group led by FMR's label leader Trevor Taylor in two quartet recordings with Jonathon Seagroatt (reeds & electronics), Rob Stevenson (reeds & electronics), Steve Hubback (percussion) and and Geof Harris (bass).


Circuit: Pyro (FMR)
Label: FMR    
Released in: Great Britain    

"Most recent of the Circuit release, an ensemble that aims to explore electronic and electro acoustic music taking advantage of the much faster current processor speeds giving amazing real time potential. As usual the group features a varied personell, this time with Taylor the only original. Jon Seagrott plays soprano sax and bass clarinet, Rob Stevenson alto sax, Wx7 and Geof Harris Electric upright and bass guitars. Taylor him self used acoustic modified drum kit, extensive percussion and his normall Kat Mallet electronic setup. All modulated their sounds via their own systems, many granular sytnth software, hardware and pedals.

This CD contains two separate recordings separated by a few months. The first a quartet recorded at the Whitehosue, Rayleight UK on 5th Jan 2011, while the second was a live recording in Oxford on Feb 22nd 2011 as part of the Oxford Improv meet. Jonathon Seagroatt modulated his bass clarinet and soprano saxophone with various granular synth programs as well as using a Korg Kaos Pad, etc.

Rob Stevenson modulated his alto sax iva a Korg Electribe and Roland SP555 as well as using a Yamaha WX7 Wind Synth.

Trevor Taylor's setup was split into three parts, pure metal percussion using many gongs, crotales, rotobells, chimes, etc. by Paiste and Sound Sculptor.

Steve Hubback, and acoustic drum kit and his electronic kit consisting of two Malllet Kat keyboards triggering two computers running Mach 5 samplers, and various Mandala multi ring electronic drum pads.

Geof Harris used both upright electric bass, as well as acoustic and electric bass guitars through a variety of pedal modulation systems."-FMR

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Electro-Acoustic Improv
London & UK Free Improvisation Scene
FMR Records
Quintet Recordings

Search for other titles on the FMR label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Circuit (Dunmall / Taylor / Gibbs)
Electro Acoustic Ensemble
Unlimited (Caldwell / Williams / Taylor)
The Sound Within
Janas, Gene / Vinnie Paternostro / Jay Reeve / Other Matter
United Slaves #2~3
(Improvising Beings)
Dunmall, Paul / Philip Gibbs / Trevor Taylor
New Atmospheres
Dunmall / Sanders / Thomas
Descent III
Larsen, Stian / Jorn Erik Ahlsen
Circuit: Taylor / Seagroat / Chatgigiannis

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Cortex (Johansson / Alberts / Hoyer / Nilssen)
Live in New York
(Clean Feed)
Silva / Anker / Sandell / Zetterberg / Falt
Life and Other Transient Storms
(Clean Feed)
Dickey, Whit / Kirk Knuffke
Fierce Silence
(Clean Feed)
Perch Hen Brock & Rainy (Ab Baars / Ig Henneman / Ingrid Laubrock / Tom Raine)
Live @ The Jazz Happening Tampere
(Relative Pitch)
Dunmall, Paul / Tony Bianco
Moholo-Moholo / Gjerstad / Stephens / Lonberg-Holm
Distant Groove
Warren, Geoff
The Quartet Album
Watts / Weston / Sanders / Edwards
Hear Now: A Film by Mark French [DVD]
Mendoza, Enrique
Below Sea Level
Dunmall / Hanslip / Gibbs / Ricart
Weeping Idols
Dunmall, Paul / Philip Gibbs
Berger, Karl / Mossa Bildner / Philip Gibbs
After The Storm
Blake, Ran / Sara Serpa
(Clean Feed)
Hegenbart, Boris & 19 Artists (Frith / Ambarchi / Grubbs / Brandlmary / &c)
Instrumentarium [VINYL 2 LPs]
(God Records)
Paradoxical Frog
(Clean Feed)
Naranjo / Stankova / Young
Verdure Into Onyx
Malcolm, Nick Quartet
Dunmall / Wooster / Sanders / Mapp
The Iceberg Quartet
Price: $15.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 023942908548

Label: FMR
Catalog ID: FMR 305-0411
Squidco Product Code: 14850

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2011
Country: Great Britain
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded at the Whitehouse in Rayleigh, UK on January 15th, 2011 and in Oxford on February 22nd, 2001.


Jon Seagroatt-bass clarinet, soprano saxophone, electronics

Trevor Taylor-electronic percussion, drums, percussion

Rob Stevenson-alto saxophone, WX7 Wind Synth, electronics

Geof Harris-eletric upright bass, acoustic bass, electric bass, electronics

Pat Thomas-Korg keyboard, electronics

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Quartet (Seagroatt, Taylor, Harris, Stevenson) 21:05

2. Trio (Seagroatt, Taylor, Harris) 8:19

3. Duo (Seagroatt, Stevenson) 7:00

4. Trio (Seagroatt, Taylor, Harris) 11:21

5. Oxford Trio (Seagroatt, Taylor, Thomas) 15:58