The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Montreal interdisciplinary artist Alexis O'Hara releases her 1st music album with Montreal luminaries Bernard Falaise, Michel F. Cote, Alexandre St-Onge - intelligent and sophisticated vocal music.

O'Hara, Alexis

O'Hara, Alexis : Ellipsis (&Records)
Label: &Records    
Released in: Canada    

"Seven years after In Abulia, Montrealer O'Hara's first disc of music, Ellipsis is a worthy return to a medium that strongly informs the conceptual art and spoken word that are her main callings. She likewise draws on those disciplines in her use of the human voice, both as a raw sound source and as a multilingual message system, and in her carefully harnessed intentions. Dodging pitfalls of pretension, she and her gathering of Mile End musical guests strike the right balance of detachment and vulnerability across these curious yet comfortable tunes."-Montreal Mirror

"Alexis O’Hara is an interdisciplinary artist whose practice exploits allegories of the human voice via electronic improvisation, video and installation. In 2003, she began an exploration of interactive documentary performance with the project Subject to Change, followed by The Sorrow Sponge, both projects involve wearable electronics and direct interaction with her audience. Her eclectic performances have been presented in a variety of contexts, from spoken word to live art festivals, new music symposiums to “women & technology” events in Slovenia, Austria, Mexico, Germany, Spain, The United Kingdom, Ireland, France, Belgium and across Canada and the US. Squeeeeque, her sound installation tours Germany, France and Holland in 2010. Ellipsis is her second full-length CD, after 2002’s In Abulia (Grenadine Records) and the mini-CDrs Music for Breakups, Suck Machine, Dew Op and Trout vs. Eagle. Alexis and her alter-ego, Guizo La Nuit, are mainstays of Montréal’s cabaret scene."-Dame

Related Categories of Interest:

Rock and Related
Improvised Rock
Song Based Music
Unusual Vocal Forms
Michael F Cote

Search for other titles on the &Records label.

Price: $14.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 1.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

Label: &Records
Catalog ID: &12
Squidco Product Code: 13898

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2010
Country: Canada
Packaging: Cardstock 3 page foldover
Recorded by Radwan Moumneh and Alexis O'Hara.


Alexis O'Hara-voice, electric bass, drum programming, electronics

Michael F. Cote-percussions

Bernard Falaise-electric guitar, electric bass

Brian Lipson-trumpet

Radwan Moumneh-sax

Stef Schneider-percussions

Alexandre St-Onge-contrabass, electric bass

Sophie trudeau-violin

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Superbe regret 4:35

2. The Stockholm Effect 3:53

3. Ventitres 3:55

4. A view/of you 3:35

5. Optimism of the Will 3:08

6. Sleepwalker 3:38

7. Balade gelée 2:28

8. Butterfingers 2:15

9. Detached Love Song 4:06

10. Encantamiento 3:16

11. Inside Joke (love is) 3:13

12. Bugs 4:09

13. Twenty three 4:01