The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

German to NY transplant, saxophonist Laubrock in a remarkable quartet with guitarist Mary Halvorson, bassist John Hebert, drummer Tom Rainey and pianist Kris Davis.

Laubrock, Ingrid

Laubrock, Ingrid: Anti-House (Intakt)
Label: Intakt    
Released in: Switzerland    

"In the summer of 2008 Ingrid Laubrock quietly relocated to New York from London, where the German native had been living for nearly two decades. Anti-House is both a remarkable showcase of where her music stands in 2010 and a vivid testimonial of how her art has transformed over the last couple of years.

The quicksilver mixture of composition and improvisation delivered by her superb quartet (which expands to a quintet on about half the pieces when the group is joined by pianist Kris Davis) is partly a product of her new surroundings and a new host of collaborators. Anti-House represents her first album as leader in the US.

The range of approaches, textures, densities, and movement heard across the album, and, indeed, within each single piece, is one of the most satisfying qualities of Laubrock's music. Her sponge-like imagination seems boundless. "I'm really attracted to contrasts," she says. "So I really love just losing yourself and getting in touch your deepest emotions, but I'm also attracted to very quiet, thoughtful composed things." That entire gamut as well as the unexpected collisions between them presides in this absorbing trip through an aural hall of mirrors."-Peter Margasak from the liner notes.

Read more about this item
The Squid
At The Squid's Ear!

See all items in the Intakt category

Related Categories of Interest:


Improvised Music
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Quintet Recordings

Search for other titles on the Intakt label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Davis, Kris Trio
Waiting For You To Grow
(Clean Feed)
Davis, Kris
Massive Threads
(Thirsty Ear)
Laubrock, Ingrid & Tom Rainey
And Other Desert Towns
(Relative Pitch)
Halvorson, Mary
Bending Bridges [2 VINYL LPs]
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Paradoxical Frog
(Clean Feed)
Attias, Michael
Spun Tree
(Clean Feed)
Weston / Laubrock / Marshall

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Bauder, Matt and Day in Pictures
(Clean Feed)
Watts / Weston / Sanders / Edwards
Hear Now: A Film by Mark French [DVD]
Cobra Fakir
Made to Break
Lacerba [VINYL]
(Clean Feed)
Trumpets and Drums (Wooley / Evans / Black / Lytton)
Live in Ljubljana
(Clean Feed)
Dresser, Mark Quintet
(Clean Feed)
McPhee, Joe
Sonic Elements
(Clean Feed)
Slobber Pup
Black Aces
(Rarenoise Records)
Spontaneous Music Ensemble
New Surfacing (1978/92)
Thieke / Gregorio / Baker / Zerang
Sack of Rice
#116 Summer 2013 [MAGAZINE + CD]
Lugerner, Steven
For We Have Heard
(Primary Records / NoBusiness)
Parker, Evan / Barry Guy / Paul Lytton
Live at Maya Recordings Festival [VINYL 2 LPs]
Parker, Evan / Matthew Shipp
Rex, Wrecks & XXX [2 CDs]
Dumitrescu, Iancu / Ana-Maria Avram
Live in Israel - CD (II)
(Edition Modern)
Dumitrescu, Iancu / Ana-Maria Avram
Electronic Music
(Edition Modern)
Ducret, Marc
Tower, Vol. 3
Boss Of The Plains
Rempis Percussion Quartet ,The
Phalanx [2 CDs]
Price: $19.95
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 7640120191733

Label: Intakt
Catalog ID: INT173
Squidco Product Code: 13359

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2010
Country: Switzerland
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded at Trout Recording, New York, on January 16th, 2010 by Adam Sachs.


Ingrid Laubrock-tenor and soprano saxophone

Mary Halvorson-guitar

John Hebert-bass

Tom Rainey-drums, glockenspiel

Kris Davis-piano

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Slowfish Glowfish 4:16

2. Flowery Prison Cell 1:16

3. Messy Minimum 1:37

4. Quick Draw 7:40

5. Funhouse Clockwork 6:06

6. Tex & Clementine 6:00

7. Anti-House 9:58

8. Is Life Anything Like This 1:48

9. Big Dang 0:55

10. Big Crunch 5:43

11. Betterboon 6:47

12. Tom Can't Sleep 6:07

13. Oh Yes 6:43

14. Mina Lisa Trampoline 7:52