The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

The 2nd volume of saxophonist Omri Ziegele and pianist Irene Schweizer's "Where's Africa" with drummer Makaya Ntshoko, beautiful, virtuosic and melodic jazz.

Ziegele, Omri
Can Walk On Sand

Ziegele, Omri: Can Walk On Sand (Intakt)
Label: Intakt    
Released in: Switzerland    

"Those who were surprised five years ago at how little "Africa" was on the first recording of Omri Ziegele and Irene Schweizer Where's Africa (Intakt 098) will be astonished now how "African" this second Where's Africa CD sounds. This is not only because of the nostalgic pieces of Dollar Brand, Chris McGregor and Johnny Dyani, and also not only because of Ntshokos discrete drumming; it is because of the attitude that is indeed so altogether un-European. See, in Europe music is not allowed to be so outrageously beautiful, so merry with melody and sound, so unbroken and touching - especially not contemporary jazz. But: Omri Ziegele's Where's Africa-Trio is far from being a colourful acoustic travelogue about townships romantically jazzed up. It is rather the result of long journeys through forty years of fiercely lived - and sometimes suffered - history of jazz. In the course of this history a lot of things simply settled: the vain virtuosity, the desperate originality, the bathos and the hysterical forced happiness, the false complexity and the pompous art gesture. The remains of the long journey to oneself is this masterpiece. It's about time."-Christian Rentsch, from the liner notes

See all items in the Intakt category

Related Categories of Interest:


Improvised Music
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Melodic and Lyrical Jazz
Trio Recordings

Search for other titles on the Intakt label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Ziegele, Omri - Yves Theiler
Inside Innocence

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Butcher, John / Thomas Lehn / Matthew Shipp
Twenty One Quartet (Vicente / De Joode / Govaer)
Live at Zaal 100
(Clean Feed)
Starlite Motel (Alberts / Saft / Haker-Flaten / Nilssen)
Awosting Falls
(Clean Feed)
Hawkins, Alexander / Evan Parker
Leaps in Leicester
(Clean Feed)
Gray, Devin (w/ Kris Davis / Chris Tordini / Chris Speed)
RelativE ResonancE
Oberg, Uwe
Taylor, Cecil
Garden, 2nd Set
Davis, Kris Infrasound (Davis / Goldberg / Noriega / Badenhorst / Bishop / Radley / Versace / Black)
Save Your Breath
(Clean Feed)
Stockhausen / Beethoven (Pi-hsien Chen)
Klavierstucke / Sonaten
(Hat [now] ART)
Day & Taxi (Gallio / Jeger / Meier)
Artists [2 CDs]
Brotzmann / Adasiewicz / Edwards / Noble
Mental Shake [VINYL]
Parker, Evan & Sylvie Courvoisier
Either Or And
(Relative Pitch)
Fake the Facts (Dieb13 / Gustafsson / Siewert)
(Trost Records)
Parker, Evan
The Ayes Have It
McPhee, Joe
The Loneliest Woman [CD EP]
(Corbett vs. Dempsey)
Robbins, Pete Unnamed Quartet
Live in Brooklyn
(Not Two Records)
Lawnmower (Gray / Hobbs / Farina / Littleton)
(Clean Feed)
Hebert, John Trio
Spiritual Lover
(Clean Feed)
OM (Leimgruber / Doran / Burri / Studer)
Two Nights in April
Leandre / Houle / Strid
Live at Sons D'Hiver
Feldman, Morton
Clarinet & String Quartet
(Hat [now] ART)
Mateen, Sabir
Urdla XXX
Drake, Hamid & Bindu
Doneda / Toulemonde / Desmarchelier
Le Terrier
Price: $19.95
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 7640120191672

Label: Intakt
Catalog ID: INT167
Squidco Product Code: 12717

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2010
Country: Switzerland
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded June, 30 and July, 1, 2009 by Schweizer Radio DRS, Radiostudio Zurich by Martin Pearson.


Omri Ziegele-alto sax, voice

Irene Schweizer-piano

Makaya Ntshoko-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. It's about Time 8:07

2. Tyntiana 3:40

3. Giggin' 0:39

4. Soul Eyes 8:50

5. Butch & Butch 1:25

6. Andromeda 2:36

7. Can Walk on Sand 7:02

8. Rare Bird 4:01

9. Summertime 4:23

10. Ithi Gqi 3:22

11. Mbiza 5:00