The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Guitarist, composer and arranger Matt White with his unique big band including Steven Bernstein, J.C. Kuhl, John Lilley, BobMiller, Reggie Pace, Bryan Hooten, &c.

Fight the Big Bull
All is Gladness in the Kingdom

Fight the Big Bull: All is Gladness in the Kingdom (Clean Feed)
Label: Clean Feed    
Released in: Portugal    

"Guitarist, composer and arranger Matt White is back with his unique big band, Fight the Big Bull. And he brings with him a very special guest, Steven Bernstein, who trumpets all the way, contributes with a couple of scores, is the co-arranger, and also the co-producer. We feel his presence in every corner of the music, but this is, undoubtedly, a project coming from White's creativity and vision.

Once again, there's direct or undirect references to Charles Mingus, and specially to the album The Black Saint and the Sinner Lady, but synthesized in a personal and up-to-date project. It goes from unison melodies to free playing very near organized chaos, and from groovy situations to contrapuntal marvels which certainly would make Bach proud. The good spirited, but ironic, "All is Gladness in the Kingdom" has a particularly interesting focus: the relations constructed between the reed/brass section (Jason Scott, J.C. Kuhl, John Lilley, Bernstein, Bob Miller, Reggie Pace, and Bryan Hooten), and Matt White's electric guitar, above a powerful rhythmic base sustained by the percussionists Brian Jones and Pinson Chanselle and by the contrabassist Cameron Ralston - in one track reinforced by Eddie Prendergast and his electric bass. Everything sounds like a machine going nuts, and that's wonderful."-Clean Feed

Read more about this item
The Squid
At The Squid's Ear!

See all items in the Clean Feed category

Related Categories of Interest:

Clean Feed

Improvised Music
Staff Picks & Recommended Items

Search for other titles on the Clean Feed label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Clark, Scott 4tet (Clark / Ralston / Miller / Scott)
Bury My Heart
(Clean Feed)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Live in Greenwich Village
(Clean Feed)
All Included (Kuchen / Johansson / Aleklint / Strom / Ostvang)
Satan in Plain Clothes
(Clean Feed)
Crothers, Connie / David Arner
Spontaneous Suite For Two Pianos [4 CD Box Set]
Gumpert, Ulrich / Gunter Baby Sommer
La Paloma
erikM / Michel Doneda
Gustafsson / Nilssen-Love / Asmamaw
Baro 101
(Terp Records)
Gayle, Charles
(Northern Spy)
eRikm / Norbert Moslang
(Mikroton Recordings)
Gonzalez Yells at Eels, Dennis
Resurrection and Life
Gjerstad, Frode / Fred Lonberg-Holm
Grant, Kay & Alex Ward
Fast Talk
Gonzalez, Dennis / Joao Paulo
So Soft Yet
(Clean Feed)
Ehrlich's Rites Quartet, Marty
Frog Leg Logic
(Clean Feed)
Corbett, Jon / Louis Moholo - Moholo / Nick Stephens
Jon Corbett's Dangerous Musics - Kongens Gade
Freeman, Von
Have No Fear
Gauthier Goatette, The Jeff
Open Source
This Is The Last Song I Wrote About Jews, Volume 1
(Multikulti Project)
Full Blast & Friends
Sketches & Ballads
(Trost Records)
Grutronic & Evan Parker
Together in Zero Space
Genetti / Smith / Lonberg-Holm
Sense of Hearing
(Balance Point Acoustics)
Dickens, Deric
Speed Date
(Deric Dickens)
Golia Quartet, Vinny
Take Your Time
(Relative Pitch)
Duboc, Benjamin
Primare Cantus
Fields, Scott Multiple Joyce Orchestra
Moersbow Ozzo
(Clean Feed)
Guionnet, Jean-Luc / Seijiro Murayama
Window Dressing
Price: $13.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 5609063001693

Label: Clean Feed
Catalog ID: CF 169
Squidco Product Code: 12670

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2010
Country: Portugal
Packaging: Cardstock Gatefold Sleeve
Recorded February 20-24, 2009 by Lance Koehler at Minimum Wage Studios. Mixed February 25, April 13 and April 20, 2009 by Lance Koehler, Matthew White ad Steven Bernstein at Minimum Wage Studios.


Jason Scott-tenor saxophone, clarinet, alto saxophone

J.C. Kuhl-tenor saxophone, clarinet

John Lilley-tenor saxophone

Steven Bernstein-trumpet, slide trumpet

Bob Miller-trumpet

Reggie Pace-trombone

Bryan Hooten-trombone

Matt White-guitar

Cameron Ralston-bass

Brian Jones-percussion

Pinson Chanselle-trap kit

Eddie Prendergast-electric bass (track 7)

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Mobile Tigers 9:33

2. Mothra 9:36

3. The Sacred Harp 5:41

4. Jemima Surrender 7:09

5. Gold Lions 7:32

6. All Is Gladness In The Kingdom 10:56

7. Eddie and Cameron Strike Back / Satchel Paige 9:18

8. Martin Denny 8:07

9. Rockers 8:28

What are other customers searching for?