The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

One of NYC's oddest rock bands, Talibam! augment and mutilate rock forms with a weird mix, helped along by Jon Irabagon, Peter Evans, Chris Forsyth, &c., great and bizarre!

Boogie in the Breeze Blocks

Talibam!: Boogie in the Breeze Blocks (ESP)
Label: ESP    
Released in: USA    

"The Brooklyn duo Talibam!'s first ESP Disk' release, Boogie in the Breeze Rocks, is a narrative earful as warped and wonderful as spicy pasta, fresh grapes and caramel crunch. An ensemble record joining 2008's Thelonious Monk Jazz Institute winner, Jon Irabagon (tenor sax); Peter Evans of Sparks (trumpet); guitarists Chris Forsyth from Peeesseye, Anders Nilson and Chin Chin's Jeremy Wilms; along with Mostly Other People Do the Killing's Moppa Elliot on upright bass; all filtered through Talibam! To make music of one voice and cohesion. It is ensemble playing that goes beyond personal choice to capture a mood and the deep anthropology of the strange beauty of contemporary opposing and debt-maxed-out stimuli."-ESP

Related Categories of Interest:

Rock and Related
Improvised Rock
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Organized Sound and Sample Based Music
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Peter Evans
Objects and Home-made Instruments

Search for other titles on the ESP label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Ghosts of the Holy Ghost Spermic Brotherhood
(Wee Space Tapes)
Talibam! w/ Alan Wilkinson
It is Dangerous to Lean Out [CASSETTE with DOWNLOAD CODE]
(Astral Spirits)
Kretzmer / Ajemian / Shea
Until Your Throat is Dry
(OutNow Recordings)
Altschul, Barry 3dom Factor
Tales Of The Unforseen
Tiger Hatchery
Sun Worship [VINYL]
Evans, Peter / Tim Dahl / Mike Pride
Pulverize The Sound
(Relative Pitch)
Forsyth, Chris / Nate Wooley
Third [VINYL]
(Rekem Records)
Beeferman, Gordon Trio (w/ James Ilgenfritz, Michael Evans)
Out In Here
(OutNow Recordings)
Mickens, Sam
Kayfabe: Lamb of G.O.D.
(Sam Mickens)
Dynamite Club
Fusion Era
Wake Up [7-inch VINYL]
(Front Rock)
Forsyth, Chris
Kenzo Deluxe
(Northern Spy)
Talibam! & Sam Kulik
Discover AtlantASS [CD & Graphic Book]
(Belly Kids)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Dieb13 / Gustafsson / Siewert
(Fake) The Facts [VINYL 7-inch]
(Trost Records)
Grimal, Alexandra
Barno, Niklas / Joel Grip / Didier Lasserre
Can't Stop Snusing
Warner, Henry P. / Earl Freeman / Philip Spigner
Freestyle Band
Lamb, Andrew / Tom Abbs / Michael Wimberly / Guillermo E. Brown
Rhapsody in Black
Sharp Trio, Elliott
(Clean Feed)
RED Trio + Nate Wooley
(Clean Feed)
Toral, Rafael / Davu Seru
Live in Minneapolis
(Clean Feed)
Kullhammar / Zetterberg / Aalberg
Basement Sessions Vol.1
(Clean Feed)
Ballister (Dave Rempis, Fred Lonberg-Holm and Paal Nilssen-Love)
(Clean Feed)
Mcphee, Joe / Ingebrigt Haker Flaten
Brooklyn DNA
(Clean Feed)
Bryan and the Haggards
Still Alive and Kickin' Down the Walls
(Hot Cup Records)
Wild Chamber Trio
10.000 Leaves
(Not Two Records)
Price: $12.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 825481040556

Label: ESP
Catalog ID: ESP 4055
Squidco Product Code: 11669

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2009
Country: USA
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded and mixed by Josh Clark at The Seaside Lounge, Brooklyn. Live recordings by Jocelyn Soubiran at Zebulon Cafe Brooklyn; and Joseph Frivaldi at Club Rehab, NYC.


Matthew Mottel-piano, fender rhodes, mini moog, glamor box oscillator, roland juno-1 alpha synth, banjo, organ, alesis nano synth, voice

Kevin Shea - drums, objects, roland spd-s, voice


Tim Dahl-electric bass (2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11)

Moppa Elliott-upright bass (6)

Michael Evans-percussion (4)

Peter Evans-trumpet (2, 4, 6, 11), voice (2)

Chris Forsyth-guitar, voice (2)

Jon Irabagon-saxophone (2, 4, 6)

Danielle Kuhlmann-voice (1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 11, 12)

Sam Kulik-trombone (2, 4, 6, 11), voice (2)

Robbie Lee-renaissance instruments (4)

Anders Nilsson-electric guitar (4, 6)

Mike Pride-vocals (4)

Jeremy Wilms-electric guitar (4, 11), fretless guitar (11)

Bird field recordings from "Ornithology-Shadows" by Michael Pestel & Jeroen van Westen (11)

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Predetermined to the Master Plan 4:17

2. Ghost Cloud 3:17

3. Slap Yr Boots On! Oysters Await 2:50

4. Entertaining the After Beast 5:20

5. Jim O'Rourke 6:53

6. Schroeder Meets Jagger 5:33

7. Not Just Any Kind of Fruit and Veg 1:41

8. Movement of Ta! People 0:58

9. Roosevelt Island: I Can't Do It. 1:11

10. Mao Mix 4:46

11. Nike Rim Johb 6:24

12. Herodiade 3:43