The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Bay area trumpeter and bandleader Johntson in a set of original compositions performed with Ben Goldberg, Sheldon Brown, Devin Hoff and Smith Dobson.

Johnston, Darren
Edge Of The Forest

Johnston, Darren: Edge Of The Forest (Clean Feed)
Label: Clean Feed    
Released in: Portugal    

"Down Beat Magazine listed Darren Johnston as one of the "25 Trumpeters of the Future", but in the measure that he is bringing the future to the present. Canadian of origin, but one of the most interesting musicians of the Bay Area scene, Johnston is involved in the best new jazz and creative music coming from the West Coast of the United States. Fred Frith, the members of the Rova Saxophone Quartet, and pianist Myra Melford have been some of his partners, and this curricular information only gives an idea of his accomplishments. Johnston is also very active as a composer for dance companies, and that kind of vision is sensed in "The Edge of the Forest". With companions like Ben Goldberg, Sheldon Brown, Devin Hoff and Smith Dobson V (also accordionist Rob Reich on one track), this new album offers a project in which the compositional work is developed in order to ignite improvisation of the finest order. But if the written part of these tunes is functional, the beauty we perceive is immediately suggested by the melodies. Some have an introspective, meditative configuration, almost like sound-scapes; others are blasts of energy, with argumentative and eloquent solos. You can't find more refreshing music than this."-Clean Feed

See all items in the Clean Feed category

Related Categories of Interest:

Clean Feed

Improvised Music
Sextet Recordings

Search for other titles on the Clean Feed label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Frith, Fred / Darren Johnston
Everybody's Somebody's Nobody
(Clean Feed)
Rempis, Dave / Darren Johnston / Larry Ochs
Lugerner, Steven
For We Have Heard
(Primary Records / NoBusiness)
Made to Break (Daisy / Hoff / Kurzmann / Vandermark)
(Clean Feed)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Hauf / Heather / Siewert / Weber
The Peeled Eye [VINYL with Download Code]
Granberg, Magnus
How Deep is the Ocean, How High is the Sky?
(Another Timbre)
Eisenstadt, Harris
September, Canada Day IV
All Included (Kuchen / Johansson / Aleklint / Strom / Ostvang)
Satan in Plain Clothes
(Clean Feed)
Lytton, Paul
(Pleasure of the Text Records)
Zu & Eugene S. Robinson
The Left Hand Path
(Trost Records)
Agnel, Sophie / John Edwards / Steve Noble
(Clean Feed)
Gregorio, Guillermo / Pandelis Karayorgis / Steve Swell
Window and Doorway
(Driff Records)
Blake, Ran / Sara Serpa
(Clean Feed)
Modirzadeh, Hafez
Post-Chromodal Out!
(Pi Recordings)
Johnston / Shelton / Mezzacappa / Nordeson
(Clean Feed)
Malaby, Tony
Tamarindo Live
(Clean Feed)
Robinson, Jason
The Two Faces Of Janus
Halvorson, Mary Quintet
Saturn Sings
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Mitchell, Nicole Sonic Projections
Emerald Hills
Evans, Peter Quartet
Live in Lisbon
(Clean Feed)
Courvoisier, Sylvie / Mark Feldman
To Fly To Steal
Pinton / Kullhammar / Zetterberg / Nordeson
(Clean Feed)
Perowsky, Ben
Esopus Opus
Evans, Peter
Eskelin, Ellery / Parkins, Andrea / Black, Jim
One Great Night...Live
Transit (Arnal / Misterka / Radding / Wooley)
(Clean Feed)
Price: $13.95
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 5609063001334

Label: Clean Feed
Catalog ID: CF 133
Squidco Product Code: 10899

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2008
Country: Portugal
Packaging: Cardstock Gatefold Sleeve
Tracks 1, 3, 4, 7 recorded February 22, 2007; Tracks 2, 5, 6 recorded January 9, 2008 by Myles Boisen at Guerrilla Recording.


Ben Goldberg-clarinet

Darren Johnston-trumpet

Devin Hoff-upright bass

Rob Reich-accordion (track 2)

Sheldon Brown-tenor sax, bass clarinet

Smith Dobson V-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Be The Frog 9:10

2. Foggy 9:53

3. Cabin 5 8:31

4. Broken 7:55

5. Apples 7:00

6. The Edge Of The Forest 6:43

7. Sippin' With Lou 10:36

What are other customers searching for?