The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

The 4th release by The Peggy Lee Band and the 1st with the band expanded from a sextet to an octet, with 3 horns and 2 guitars blending beautifully for a warm, full sound.

Lee, Peggy Band
New Code

Lee, Peggy  Band: New Code (Drip Audio)
Label: Drip Audio    
Released in: Canada    

"New Code is the fourth release by The Peggy Lee Band and the first that sees the band expanded from a sextet to an octet. The three horns blend beautifully for a warm, full sound and the two guitars take turns at covering written parts leaving the other free to colour the music with abstract textures or full out soloing.

Peggy has written seven new compositions for the album which have been interspersed with three small group improvisations--two trios and one duo. She has 'book-ended' the whole set of music with two covers, Bob Dylan's "All I Really Want To Do" and Kurt Weill's "Lost In The Stars." The album opens with a full and joyous sound and travels through many moods: from agitated to defiant; from reflective to jubilant. The band plays with complete commitment, honesty and inspiration throughout.

Vancouver-based cellist Peggy Lee plays the field between jazz and new music, currently receiving international recognition as one of Vancouver's finest improvisers. Upon arriving in Vancouver in 1989, Peggy Lee has participated in numerous creative projects. She is a member of Talking Pictures and Standing Wave, a new music ensemble dedicated to performing new written works by Canadian composers. Other performance collaborations include work with keyboardist Wayne Horvitz, trumpeter Dave Douglas, guitarist Nels Cline (Wilco) and guitarist Bill Frisell.

The Peggy Lee Band was formed in 1998 as a vehicle to explore different strategies of improvisation within the context of Peggy's compositions. Although initially formed as a sextet, Peggy decided to expand the group in 2007 by adding tenor saxophone and another electric guitar. This is a group in which the unique contribution of each player is crucial to the ensemble's overall sound. The sextet has released three cd's on the Spool label and has toured nationally and internationally. "New Code" is the first album as an octet."-Drip Audio

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Octet Recordings

Search for other titles on the Drip Audio label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Film In Music
Tell Tale
(Drip Audio)
Wilson, Tony 6tet
A Day's Life
(Drip Audio)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Smith, Wadada Leo / Dejohnette, Jack
Jackle, Klaus
Paganini, Giuliani
(Meta Records)
Bauer / Rose / Lehn
Schlippenbach, Alexander Von & Eddie Prevost
Butcher / Hemingway
Buffalo Pearl
Tom & Gerry (Thomas Lehn & Gerry Hemingway)
Rowe, Keith
ErstLive 007
Rowe, Keith / Taku Unami
ErstLive 006
Fredriksson, Kullhammar & Zetterberg
Gyldene Tider Vol. 1
(Moserobie Music)
4 Corners
Alive In Lisbon [DVD]
(Clean Feed)
Laubrock, Ingrid
Kaufmann / Dresser / Eisenstadt
Marcus, Michael
Lotus Symphony
(Not Two Records)
Noonan, Sean's Brewed By Noon
Boxing Dreams
McAuley, Jim
The Ultimate Frog
(Drip Audio)
Sanchez, Angelica
Life Between
(Clean Feed)
Morris, Joe / Barre Phillips
Elm City Duets 2006
(Clean Feed)
Townhouse Orchestra (E.Parker/ Sandell / Flaten / Nilssen-Love)
Belle Ville
(Clean Feed)
Van Huffel, Peter / Sophie Tassignon
(Clean Feed)
Bynum, Taylor Ho Sextet
Asphalt Flowers Forking Paths
And the Missing "R"
(Clean Feed)
Solar Forge
Sharp, Elliott / Fields, Scott
(Clean Feed)
Price: $13.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 4.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 875531003185

Label: Drip Audio
Catalog ID: DA00318
Squidco Product Code: 10792

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2008
Country: Canada
Recorded by Sheldon Zaharko at The Factory Studios, Vancouver, BC, Canada. Mixed, edited and mastered by Dylan van der Schyff at Zio Uovo.


Brad Turner-trumpet

Jon Bentley-tenor sax

Jeremy Berkman-trombone

Peggy Lee-cello

Ron Samworth-guitar

Tony Wilson, guitar

Andre Lachance-electric bass

Dylan van der Schyff-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. All I Really Want To Do 5:25

2. Preparations 8:40

3. Offshoot 3:46

4. No a Wake Up Call 5:56

5. Floating Island 4:47

6. Offshoot 2 2:45

7. Scribble Town 3:51

8. Tug 4:23

9. Offshoot 3 3:43

10. Walk Me Through 6:26

11. Shiftung Tide 4:55

12. Lost in the Stars 4:25