The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Phantom Orchard's latest demonstrates the unique improvisational language and rapport built on decades of collaboration between downtown NY-ers Ikue Mori and Zeena Parkins.

Mori, Ikue & Parkins, Zeena
Phantom Orchard

Mori, Ikue & Parkins, Zeena: Phantom Orchard (Tzadik)
Label: Tzadik    
Released in: USA    

"Friends and colleagues since 1988, Ikue Mori and Zeena Parkins are two of the strongest musical voices out of the downtown scene. Lynchpins of bands as diverse as DNA, Skeleton Crew, Electric Masada, Hemophiliac and Björk, their duo project Phantom Orchard is the perfect outlet for their unique and personal musical languages and their rapport is evident in each and every track. Here they create eleven compositions of unique cutting edge music with the help of some of the brightest lights in improvised music. Mystery, lyricism and electronic soundscapes from this most dynamic of all dynamic duos."-Tzadik

See all items in the Tzadik category

Related Categories of Interest:


Electro-Acoustic Improv
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Sextet Recordings

Search for other titles on the Tzadik label.

Price: $13.95
Out of Stock
Special Order

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 702397771821

Label: Tzadik
Catalog ID: TZA-CD-7718
Squidco Product Code: 9990

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2008
Country: USA
Packaging: Jewel Tray

Cyro Baptista-Percussion

Makigami Koichi-Voice, Jewsharp

Ikue Mori-Electronics

Zeena Parkins-Electric Harp, Acoustic Harp, Omnichord

Josh Quillen-Steel Drum

Maja Solveig Kjelstrup Ratkje-Voice, Real Time Processing

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Inquisitive Fingers 5:52

2. Gypsoflia 5:51

3. Omni 3:22

4. Cavalcade 5:48

5. Ship Of The Damned 3:40

6. Big Foot 2:21

7. Cascade Of Joy 2:53

8. Green Dome 4:48

9. The Well 5:31

10. Magnetic Sleep 4:58

11. Kiss That Conquers 5:04