The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Gong meets Cow meets Soft Machine in the revised version of Brainville (3), playing a mix of extended songs and instrumental numbers live in Berlin, London and Tel Aviv.

Brainville 3 (Allen / Hopper / Cutler)
Trial By Headline

Brainville 3 (Allen / Hopper / Cutler): Trial By Headline (Recommended Records)
Label: Recommended Records    
Released in: USA    

"Three old hands out of Soft Machine, Gong and Henry Cow stretch already elastic musical material into various shapes, tie it in knots and generally have a good time. These high quality recordings combined with seat-of-the-pants playing make for a lot of feature and colour, underpinning a music that is constantly in shape-shifting motion. Compiled from recent concert recordings in Berlin, London and Tel Aviv, this clutch of extended songs should be to the taste of anyone familiar with the protagonists, or who longs to hear a little more straightforward instrumental playing in place of computers, heavy production and highly sanitised post-production. Well seasoned musicality, fast thinking and relaxed conversation at the edge of chaos.

In 1963 Hopper and Allen first play together in the then revolutionary Daevid Allen Trio, with Robert Wyatt - the first group to combine free-jazz-rock forms with abstract poetry. By 1967 Daevid had become a founding member of the now legendary Soft Machine, which Hugh joined in 1968. By this time, Daevid was living in Paris and concocting the first of the still-evolving Gong's. When, on occasion, Gong was between drummers, it was Cutler who, although a full time member of Henry Cow, was drafted in. Later, in 1979, he worked with Allen on the LP N'existe Pas and at various festivals, including Georgio Gomelski's legendary New York Zu Manifestival . Hopper and Cutler didn't work together until 1993, in Lindsay Cooper's Oh Moscow, but have since played intermittently as a duo. This trio has popped in and out of being since 1997 and their first tour in Japan."-Recommended Records

See all items in the Recommended Records category

Related Categories of Interest:

Recommended Records

Rock and Related
Progressive Rock
RIO (Rock in Opposition)
Song Based Music
Staff Picks & Recommended Items

Search for other titles on the Recommended Records label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Artaud Beats, The
(Recommended Records)
MacLean, Steve & Chris Cutler
Year of the Dragon
(Recommended Records)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Frith, Fred
Clearing Customs
Lossing, Russ Trio
Gratkowski, Frank / Jacob Anderskov
Ardent Grass
(Red Toucan)
Lokomotiv: Carlos Barretto
(Clean Feed)
Lawnmower (Gray / Hobbs / Farina / Littleton)
(Clean Feed)
Hebert, John Trio
Spiritual Lover
(Clean Feed)
Lightcap, Chris' Big Mouth
(Clean Feed)
Mahanthappa / Lehman
Dual Identity
(Clean Feed)
Ino / Imai / Dorner / Tanaka
Rostbestandige Zeit [2 CDs]
Willson, Brian
Border Crossing
(Not Two Records)
Liebman / Evan Parker / Bianco
(Red Toucan)
Sandell, Sten
Face of Tokyo
Mateen, Sabir / Frode Gjerstad feat. Steve Swell
Sound Gathering
(Not Two Records)
Hautzinger / Okura / Akiyama
Various Artists
Improvised Music from Japan 2009 [book + 3 CDs]
(Improvised Music From Japan)
Yoshihide / Ozeki / Gustafsson
with records
Sealed Knot, The (Beins / Davies / Wastell)
and we disappear
(Another Timbre)
Dixon, Bill
Tapestries for Small Orchestra
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Blast 4tet
(Recommended Records)
Keiji / Makoto / Tatsuya
Ichi to Ichi ga Kasanatte Shimaumade [DVD]
Leandre, Joelle, Quentin Sirjacq
Out of Nowhere
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Moondoc Tentet, Jemeel / Jus Grew Orchestra
Live at the Vision Festival 2001
Electrics, The
Chain of Accidents
Feza, Mongezi / Rosengren Quartet, Bernt
Free Jam [2 CDs]
Price: $12.00
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 752725024426

Label: Recommended Records
Catalog ID: ReR BV3-1
Squidco Product Code: 9648

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2008
Country: USA
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Tracks 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, 9 recorded on June 10, 2007 at the Ballhaus, BErlin by Jens Schneider; Track 4 was recorded on June 3, 2007 at the Borderline, London by David Id (Westrop); Track 6 recorded on October 22, 2006 at the Zappa Club, Tel Avi by Udi Komran; edit and compiled by Chris Cutler, re-mastered by Bob Drake at Studio Midi-Pyrenees, December and February 2007-8.


Daevid Allen-guitar, vocals

Hugh Hopper-bass

Chris Cutler-drums, percussion

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Trial by Headline

2. Dedicated to PQ but she couldn't hear it

3. Ocean Mother

4. Who's Afraid

5. Basement Suite

6. I bin Stoned Before

7. Return to Basement

8. The Rubiyat of Honorium Tonsilitisk

9. Hours Gone

10. Didditagin

Total time 60:18