The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Frequent William Parker sideman alto saxophonist Rob Brown on his 1st Aum Fidelity solo record, studio recordings of the ensemble he put together for the 2006 Vision Festival.

Brown Ensemble, Rob
Crown Trunk Root Funk

Brown Ensemble, Rob: Crown Trunk Root Funk (Aum Fidelity)
Label: Aum Fidelity    
Released in: USA    

"Rob Brown is an awesome alto saxophonist, a mercurial improviser who is perpetually inventive. AUM Fidelity has recorded him many times over the years as a foundation member of the principal groups of William Parker, with whom he has shared a musical relationship for over 20 years. Brown has also revealed himself to be a very gifted composer and group leader. This particular ensemble was first brought together for a performance at the 2006 Vision Festival. It was deemed essential that this group be brought into the studio to make an album.

A focus of Crown Trunk Root Funk is deep grooves, with brightness and openings provided by Brown's gorgeous, indelible melodies and the highly exploratory work of this extraordinary band. Parker provides the root bass, and drummer Gerald Cleaver (who has worked extensively with Matthew Shipp, Roscoe Mitchell, Joe Morris, and Mat Maneri) brings his supremely sensitive musicality and Detroit-bred funk. Keyboardist and fellow Detroit native Craig Taborn (whose collaborative pedigree spans Tim Berne, James Carter, Carl Craig, Roscoe Mitchell, Chris Potter, Susie Ibarra, and Meat Beat Manifesto) is likewise endlessly inventive within this tremendously rewarding sonic ecosystem. We are well proud to present our first album featuring Rob Brown as leader."-Aum Fidelity

See all items in the Aum Fidelity category

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Parker, William
Aum Fidelity
Free Improvisation
Quartet Recordings

Search for other titles on the Aum Fidelity label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Parker, William / Raining on the Moon
Great Spirit
(Aum Fidelity)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Leandre, Joelle & Serge Teyssot-Gay
Fire! with Oren Ambarchi
In The Mouth - A Hand
(Rune Grammofon)
Kalabalik (Raoul Bjorkenheim / Anders Nilsson / Gerald Cleaver)
Kalabalik: Live At Downtown Music Gallery January 2, 2011
Jones Quartet, Darius
Book Of Mae'bul (Another Kind of Sunrise)
(Aum Fidelity)
Fully Celebrated Orchestra
Drunk On The Blood Of The Holy Ones
(Aum Fidelity)
O'Leary / Shipp
Gjerstad, Frode / John Stevens
Let's Just Keep Going
Edelin, Michele Trio + Steve Lehman
Circulasione Totale Orchestra
Open Port
Bent Spoon Trio
lost in a chinese attic
(Bug Incision Records)
Buffalo Suicide Prevention Unit
(Ruby Red Editora)
Bell, Clive / Saade, Bechir
An Account of My Hut: Improvisations for Shakuhachi and Ney
(Another Timbre)
Eastley / Halliwell / Parker / Wastell
a life saved by a spider and two doves
(Another Timbre)
Leaney, Aaron
Bauer / Bauer / Kropinski / Sachse
Doppelmoppel - Outside This Area
Zorn, John Bar Kokhba Sextet
Lucifer: The Book Of Angels Volume 10
W.O.O.: Mambo Mantis
+1 -1
(Sweetstuff Media)
Leandre / Crispell / Campbell, Jr. / Maneri - The Stone Quartet
DMG @ The Stone, December 22, 2006 Volume 1
Various Artists
That Mysterious Forest Below London Bridge
Gjerstad Trio, Frode
Nothing Is Forever
Malaby, Tony
(Clean Feed)
Frith, Fred
Back To Life
Hinds, Killick Erik / Stagner, Bob / Palmer, Dennis
A.S.A.P. Wings
(Shaking Ray Records)
Davies, Rhodri / Matt Davis / Samantha Rebello / Bechir Saade
(Another Timbre)
Ganelin, Slava / Volkov, Vladimir
Ne Slyshno
(Auris Media)
Price: $14.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 642623304426

Label: Aum Fidelity
Catalog ID: AUM 044CD
Squidco Product Code: 9406

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2008
Country: USA
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded at MPI Studio, Manhattan on February 15, 2007. Mixed at Systems Two Studio, Brooklyn on October 9, 2007


Rob Brown-alto saxophone

Craig Taborn-piano, electronics

William Parker-bass

Gerald Cleaver-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Rocking Horse 10:55

2. Clearly Speaking 6:54

3. Sonic Ecosystem 11:15

4. Ghost Dog 7:31

5. Exuberance 6:16

6. Lifeboat 6:27

7. Worlds Spinning 9:51

All compositions by Rob Brown