The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Powerful debut from Vancouver guitarist Wilson's 6Tet after 4 years of musical investigations into collective improvisation, melody & noise, meter shifts, African Rhythms, &c.

Wilson 6tet, Tony
Pearls Before Swine

Wilson 6tet, Tony: Pearls Before Swine (Drip Audio)
Label: Drip Audio    
Released in: Canada    

"This debut release from the Tony Wilson 6Tet is the first documentation of the ongoing musical investigations this group started four years ago. Each composition explores various styles and sonic possibilities. Melancholy melodies, collective noise improvisations, metre shifts and African rhythms stand side by side and combine to give this ensemble a very different and original sound. References might be to artists such as Albert Ayler, Sonny Sharrock or Bill Frisell, but because of the individual approaches of each player, this band will remind you of no one else. The four cover tunes are Tony's homages to the artists who have influenced him over the years. The original compositions range from intimate ballads to ostinato driven collective improvisations and include a guest vocal performance by folkster Kevin House.

Vancouver's Coastal Jazz and Blues hails him as "unquestionably one of the most original guitar stylists on the Canadian scene". Down Beat Magazine entitles him as "...a talismanic West Coast figure." Tony Wilson has studied with many acclaimed jazz musicians including Dave Holland, John Abercrombie, Kevin Eubanks and Steve Coleman and has shared the stage with well know international artists such as William Parker, Gerry Hemingway, Han Bennink, Toby Delius, Benoit Delbecq & Eric Boeren.

TThe members of the Tony Wilson 6tet are a part of Vancouver's prolific creative music scene and also perform with Fond of Tigers, the Veda Hille Band, Bison, Great Aunt Ida, Dark Blue World, Kevin House, Zubot & Dawson, Inhabitants and many others."-Drip Audio

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
November 2007
Septet recordings

Search for other titles on the Drip Audio label.

Price: $13.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

Label: Drip Audio
Catalog ID: DA00251
Squidco Product Code: 9017

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2007
Country: Canada
Packaging: Jewel Tray

Tony Wilson-guitar

Russell Sholberg-bass

Masa Anzai-sax

JP Carter-trumpet

Skye Brooks-drums

Jesse Zubot-violin

Kevin House-vocals (track 12)

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Ee-Gypt-Me 6:01

2. Squirk 8:19

3. Boo-Dat 9:12

4. Innocent Objections 5:47

5. I Am The Walrus 5:56

6. Jesse's Tune 5:02

7. For Fela Kuti #2 4:56

8. Horn 'in In 3:17

9. A Bit More 5:34

10. J.P.'s Tune 5:46

11. Jim 5:40

12. Junkyard Sea 4:47