The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Incredible hybrid of styles from Houle, Zubot & Co., incorporating electro-acoustic, improvisation, folk-inspired melodies, samples and odd dialogue.


LaConnor: LaConnor (Drip Audio)
Label: Drip Audio    
Released in: Canada    

"Francois Houle and Jesse Zubot have been performing together on the west coast for several years. Strong from their respective projects (Au Coeur du Litige, Francois Houle 5, Zubot & Dawson, Great Uncles of the Revolution) the two have joined forces with Toronto percussionist/turntablist extraordinare Jean Martin (Barnyard Drama) to form LaConnor. This album includes highly engaging and intricate works that incorporate electro-acoustics, improvisations, folk-inspired chamber-like melodies, samples and humourous dialogue. The result is a fascinating web of intriguing, relentless textural soundscapes, that stay clear of the usual pitfalls of musique actuelle.

The members of 'LaConnor' have performed with jazz/improv greats such as Evan Parker, Dave Douglas, Nels Cline, Marilyn Crispell, Joelle Leandre, Eugene Chadbourne, John Oswald, Henry Kaiser, Dylan van der Schyff, Peggy Lee, Benoit Delbecq, Torsten Muller Gerry Hemingway, Water Prati and many others."-Drip Audio

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Rock and Related
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
October 2007

Search for other titles on the Drip Audio label.

Price: $12.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 776098164923

Label: Drip Audio
Catalog ID: MAX16372
Squidco Product Code: 8909

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2007
Country: Canada
Packaging: Jewel Tray

François Houle-clarinet

Jean Martin-drums

Jesse Zubot-violin

LaConnor-electronic manipulation, samples

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Low, So Like

2. Circle

3. The French Connection

4. Short Moment

5. Mr. Panhuysen

6. Interlude #2

7. Errol the Chinless Blither

8. Short & Sad

9. C'est des Cerises

10. Donkey Song

11. Orkestra for Small People

12. Spin the Lazy Susan

13. Nebula

14. Redial