The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2020, Squidco LLC

Seino, Takumi / Antoine Berthiaume: ARC - Beneath the Surface (Voice of Silence)


Price: $10.80


Out of Stock

Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Log In to use our Wish List
product information:

Label: Voice of Silence
Catalog ID: VOS 632
Squidco Product Code: 6169

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2006
Country: Japan
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded live at Big Apple, Kobe, July 18, 2005 by Tetsumasa Kondo, Mixed Mastered by Takumi Seino


Takumi Seino-guitar

Antoine Berthiaume-guitar

Click an artist name above to see in-stock items for that artist.

Highlight an instrument above
and click here to Search for albums with that instrument.
track listing:

1 Gateway (Berthiaume, Takumi)

2 Arc - beneath the surface (Berthiaume, Takumi)

3 Kokihi (Antoine solo) (Berthiaume)

4 Afternoon odd (Berthiaume, Takumi)

5 Blueness (Takumi solo) (Takumi)

6 White, wisps of red and blue (Berthiaume, Takumi)
descriptions, reviews, &c.
Montreal's Antoine Berthiaume met Japan's Takumi Seino in a dual guitar improvisational setting at Big Apple Studio in Kobe, Japan. The results are a beautifully recorded set of extended tracks that pit guitar strings and audio effects in recordings that constantly grab your attention in the huge soundspace they create. Each guitarist takes a speaker, clearly showing each player's respective and impressive creative talents. Berthiaume, who's recorded with Derek Bailey and Fredi Frith, spends his time between Montreal and New York, when not extensively touring - he'll be featured in the 2006 Victo Festival. Takukmi Seino, winner of Yamaha's Best Guitarist awark in '85 is a Berkley graduate and is active as a solo and group improviser; he also provided the artwork and design for this release.
Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Guitarists, &c.
Musique Actuelle
Japanese & Asian Improv/Rock
Electro-Acoustic Improv
May 2006
Duo Recordings
Canadian Composition & Improvisation

Other Releases With These Artists:
Ewen, Sandy / Damon Smith
Background Information
(Balance Point Acoustics)
eRikm / Martin Brandlmayr
(Mikroton Recordings)
Anderson, Casey / Jason Kahn / Norbert Moslang / Gunter Muller / Mark Trayle
Five Lines
(Mikroton Recordings)
Morris, Joe / Chris Cretella
(Glacial Erratic)
Uchihashi, Kazuhisa / Noid / Tamara Wilhelm
I Hope It Doesn't Work
(Mikroton Recordings)
BEFOREHAND (Lazaridou / Wastell)
Live at Hundred Years Gallery
Vicente / Pinheiro / Faustino / Franco
Clocks And Clouds
Lazro, Daunik / Benjamin Duboc / Didier Lasserre
Sens Radiants
(Dark Tree Records)
McDonas, Thollem / Gino Robair
Trio Music Minus One (For Dennis Palmer)
(Setola Di Maiale)
Bad News From Houston (McDonas / Dieterich)
In The Valley Of The Cloud Builder
(Post Consumer)
Pluta, Sam
Machine Language
(Carrier Records)
Stookey, Nathaniel
Beins / Dorner / Hayward / Krebs
Phosphor 2
Octante (Barberan / Monteiro / Fages / Garcia)
(Another Timbre)
Ulher / Metzger
(Creative Sources)
Poulin, Brigitte
Edifices naturels
(Collection QB)
Supernatural Hot Rug And Not Used

(EM Records)
Oliver, Cody
(House Leek Audio)
Vulture Club, The
Live Young, Die Fast and Leave an Exquisite Corpse
(Utech Records)
Various Artists
Auclair, Melanie
Decor sonore
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Simonis, Lukas
(Taut Recordings)
Cartier, Pierre
Chansons de la Belle Esperance
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
My Cat Is An Alien
Folclore Alieno
(Opax Records)
Dorner / Kapian / Chamy
(Creative Sources)
Anthouard, Frederic
Versant Est
Denzler / Dorner / Erdmann / Griener / Muller
(Creative Sources)
Tetreault, Martin, Otomo Yoshihide
3. Ahhh
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Various Artists
Angelica '96
Recommended & Related Releases:

Search for other titles on the Voice of Silence label.