The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

Mattin takes 5 spontaneous 5-minute songs from 5 musicians, and a 25 minute concert structured by 5 instructions based on those song titles, then records vocals for the 5 songs as a singing lecture, then superimposes all 3 to create the five 5-minutes songs on this album.

Songbook #5 [VINYL]

Mattin : Songbook #5 [VINYL] (Disembraining Machine )

Label: Disembraining Machine     
Released in: Australia    


Created in five parts 7-8 May 2013 in Melbourne.

Part 1: Five musicians record five spontaneous 'songs' of five-minute duration each in response to five different concepts (five different five-word song titles).

Part 2: A twenty-five minute concert at Make It Up Club in five-minutes sections structured by five instructions based on the song titles given to members of the audience.

Part 3: Mattin records vocals for the five songs in the form of a 'singing' lecture at the Victorian College of the Arts. The audience only hears Mattin's voice (he listens to the backing tracks on headphones).

Part 4: Recordings of parts 1, 2 and 3 are superimposed to create a five-minute album consisting of 5 x 5 minute songs.

Part 5: Record to be released in a edition of 550 copies."-Mattin

Limited edition of 550 copies.

See all items in the Vinyl Recordings category

Related Categories of Interest:

Vinyl Recordings
Improvised Music
Unusual Vocal Forms
Song Based Music
Electro-Acoustic Improv
Rock and Related
Improvised Rock

Search for other titles on the Disembraining Machine label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Regel #4 (HNW)
(Rapid Moment / At War With False Noise / Decimation Sociale / Pilgrim Talk)
Papal Bull
Argot Of Incomprehension
(Discombobulate / Sing ing Knives)
Wang, Hong-Kai and Mattin
Collapsing Ourselves [VINYL]
(Mount Analogue)
Brassier, Ray & Mattin
Unfree Improvisation/Compulsive Freedom
(Thrill Jockey)
Wastell, Mark
Caressed On The Brow By Unseen Hands
Wake Up [7-inch VINYL]
(Front Rock)
tUnE-yArDs As Yoko [10-inch VINYL]
(Chimera Music)
Exquisite Corpse [VINYL]
(Azul Discografica)
O'Hara, Alexis
30 November 2002
Songbook Vol. 4
(Azul Discografica)
Workman, Dion / Mattin
(Formed Records)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Morris, Joe
Shock Axis
(Relative Pitch)
Allbee, Liz / Burkhard Beins
Mensch Mensch Mensch [VINYL]
Gustafsson, Mats w/ John Russell & Phil Minton
a duo(s) [VINYL]
Forsyth, Chris / Nate Wooley
Third [VINYL]
(Rekem Records)
Nelson, Matt
Lower Bottoms [VINYL]
Gate, The (feat Tim Dahl / Nate Wooley)
Stench [VINYL]
Wooley, Nate & MIVOS Quartet
(Ignoring Gravity Music)
Moondoc, Jemeel / Connie Crothers
(Relative Pitch)
Bisio, Michael / Matt Shipp Duo
Floating Ice
(Relative Pitch)
Nilssen-Love / Hana
Hosanna and Prallel Sevens I [10-inch LP]
Levin-Decanini, Anthony
Pairings / Birth Plan [VINYL]
(Broken Research)
Price: $15.00
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 14.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

Limited edition of 550 copies.

Label: Disembraining Machine
Catalog ID: What Is Not Music? #1
Squidco Product Code: 20408

Format: LP
Condition: New
Released: 2014
Country: Australia
Packaging: LP
Recorded in Melbourne, Australia, on May 7th and 8th, 2013 by Joel Stern.


Alex Cuffe-musican

Andrew McLellan-musican

Dean Roberts-musican

Joel Stern-musican

Mattin-musican, composer

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:


1. What Isn't Music After Cage?

2. Aware Of Its Own Meditation

3. Stuck In Our Own Trap


1. Alienation As An Enabling Condition

2. The Act Acting On Itself