The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

A joyful and sophisticated performance from bassist and leader Adam Lane's Full Throttle Orchestra, an 8-piece band including Nate Wooley, Susana Silva, Reut Regev, David Bindman, Avram Fefer, Adam Lane & Igal Foni performing live at the 53rd Ljubljana Jazz Festival.

Lane, Adam Full Throttle Orchestra
Live In Ljubljana

Lane, Adam Full Throttle Orchestra: Live In Ljubljana (Clean Feed)

Label: Clean Feed    
Released in: Portugal    

"Adam Lane is back to the big band format he loves so much, with an ensemble (Portuguese trumpeter Susana Santos Silva is one of the contributors) large enough "to allow for a dense, multi-dimensional sound palette", but small enough "for successful group improvisation".

The scores and the arrangements are at times complex and dense, while at others, soaked in a steamrolling groove. Lane incorporates organizational strategies that he learned from the new music composer Earle Brown, but never strays too far from the flowing logic of the jazz tradition. As usual he integrates a myriad of influences into his sound including nods to Duke Ellington, Charles Mingus and Muhal Richard Abrams, but also Luigi Nono, and Parliament/Funkadelic. And, surprise, surprise, there are even some key rhythmic elements taken from the Balinese and Javanese gamelan tradition, and not for exotic effect.

As Adam Lane himself puts it: "It's all about the groove." Yes, this is highly intelligent music to tap your foot to: soulful mind candy with a groove!"-Clean Feed

See all items in the Clean Feed category

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Free Improvisation
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Clean Feed
Melodic and Lyrical Jazz
Nate Wooley
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Octet Recordings

Search for other titles on the Clean Feed label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Damana: Dag Magnus Narvesen Octet (Alberts / Mathisen / Roligheten / Powell / Kompen / Dale / Myhr / Narvesen)
Cornua Copiae
(Clean Feed)
Wooley, Nate
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Roji (Almeida / Schneider / Santos Silva)
The Hundred Headed Woman
Silva / Anker / Sandell / Zetterberg / Falt
Life and Other Transient Storms
(Clean Feed)
Draksler, Kaja / Susana Santos Silva
This Love
(Clean Feed)
Silva / Zetterberg / Lindval
If Nothing Else
(Clean Feed)
Roots Magic (Popolla / Defabriths / Tedeschi / Spera / Ventiucci)
Hoodoo Blues
(Clean Feed)
Lama + Joachim Badenhorst (Silva / Smith / Almedia)
The Elephant's Journey
(Clean Feed)
Velkro (Simon / Meidell / Candeias)
Don't Wait for the Revolution
(Clean Feed)
De Beren Gieren plus Susana Santos Silva
The Detour Fish (Live in Ljubljana)
(Clean Feed)
Ton Trio II (Shelton / Brown / Vittum)
On and On
(Singlespeed Music)
(Clean Feed)
Morris, Joe Quartet
(Clean Feed)
(Clean Feed)
Kullhammar / Aalberg / Zetterberg / Mathisen
Basement Sessions Vol. 3 - The Ljubljana Tapes
(Clean Feed)
Chicago / Sao Paulo Underground feat Pharoah Sanders
Pharoah and the Underground / Spiral Mercury
(Clean Feed)
Lane, Adam / Darius Jones / Vijay Anderson
Absolute Horizon
Hooker Quintet, William featuring Adam Lane
Channels of Consciousness
Jones, Darius Trio
Big Gurl (Smell My Dream)
(Aum Fidelity)
Hooker, William
Earth's Orbit [VINYL 2 LPs]
Edwards, Marc / Weasel Walter Group
Blood Of The Earth
Lopes / Lane / Foni
What is When
(Clean Feed)
4 Corners
Alive In Lisbon [DVD]
(Clean Feed)
Lane / Grassi / Whitecage
Drunk Butterfly
(Clean Feed)
Lane's, Adam Full Throttle Orchestra
New Magical Kingdom
(Clean Feed)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
PYN (Yoshida / Pittard / Nasuno)
Songs for children who don't want to sleep
Price: $14.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 5609063003079

Label: Clean Feed
Catalog ID: CF 307
Squidco Product Code: 19307

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2014
Country: Portugal
Packaging: Cardstock Gatefold Sleeve
Recorded live at the 53rd Ljubljana Jazz Festival, in Ljubljana, Slovenia, on june 28th, 2012, by Luis Delgado.


Nate Wooley-trumpet

Susana Santos Silva-trumpet

Reut Regev-trombone

David Bindman-tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone

Avram Fefer-alto saxophone

Matt Bauder-baritone saxophone

Adam Lane-bass

Igal Foni-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Power Lines/Feeling Blue-ish 14:51

2. Empire Of Music (The One) 12:58

3. Sanctum 13:26

4. Multiply Then Divide 7:06

5. Ashcan Rantings 12:08

6. Power Lines/Blues For Eddie 14:59