The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

The fifth album from the powerful Swedish trio Fire!, comprised of Mats Gustafsson (The Thing), Johan Berthling (Tape) and drummer Andreas Werliin (Wildbirds & Peacedrums), with Mats playing keyboards and electronics on selected tracks.

Without Noticing

Fire!: Without Noticing (Rune Grammofon)
Label: Rune Grammofon    
Released in: Norway    

"The fifth album from Swedish trio Fire!, comprised of Mats Gustafsson (The Thing), Johan Berthling (Tape) and drummer Andreas Werliin (Wildbirds & Peacedrums). This album follows collaborations with Jim O'Rourke, Oren Ambarchi and the gargantuan 30 piece Fire! Orchestra band.

Fire!'s latest burnt offering features the trio alone with themselves, lighting up a sonic blaze which smolders, then catches alight under their careful attention. Recorded in Stockholm over the long, harsh winter of 2012-13, and as far from noodling instrumentals as it's possible to get, the tracks are spontaneously combusting rituals with a clear sense of purpose.

Each of the three members is gifted with a formidable technique and arsenal of tricks and effects on their respective instruments, but they use these to feed the flames of rock based riffs and rhythms. The album also sees acclaimed saxophonist Mats Gustafsson boosting his already versatile skills, by swapping to keyboards and electronics on selected tracks. Note, for instance, the heavily distorted organ on "Tonight. More. Much more. (without noticing)," and the guttural grunts of a Fender Rhodes electric piano on "Molting Slowly (without noticing)" and "I Mostly Stare (without noticing)."

The oddly cut-up titles on (without noticing) are lifted and inspired by Smog founder Bill Callahan's letters to Emma Bowlcut, published in a volume by Chicago label Drag City. The strategy gives an insight into the broadminded frame of reference of this eclectic trio. With all three members pulling in elements from free jazz, ambient improvisation and electronic pop/rock, their music has reached a new confidence and intensity on (without noticing)."-Rune Grammofon

Also available on vinyl LP.

Recommended & Related Releases:
Price: $16.95
Out of Stock
Special Order
If ordered we
expect to ship within:
4 weeks

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 7033662021468

Label: Rune Grammofon
Catalog ID: RCD 2146CD
Squidco Product Code: 18022

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2013
Country: Norway
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded at Summa, Stockholm in Winter 2012-2013 by Andreas Werliin and Johan Berthling.


Mats Gustafsson-tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone, organ, fender rhodes, electronics

Johan Berthling-bass, piano

Andreas Werliin-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Standing On A Rabbit (Without Noticing) 2:13

2. Would I Whip (Without Noticing) 5:58

3. Your Silhouette On Each (Without Noticing) 6:33

4. At Least On Your Door (Without Noticing) 6:39

5. Tonight. More. Much More. (Without Noticing) 7:36

6. Molting Slowly (Without Noticing) 10:00

7. I Mostly Stare (Without Noticing) 3:03

Other Releases
With These Artists: